A Brief Cigar Review - Cuban Montecristo No 2

in #cigars7 years ago

The Montecristo No. 2 is one of the original vitolas of the Montecristo brand, which was created in Cuba by Alonso Menendez in 1935. Montecristo, namely the no. 2, is one of the most popular and respected cigars of all time. It has been much too long since I have enjoyed a Monte 2, so tonight I puff one and review.

FullSizeRender.jpg

Prelight

Wrapper: Cuban
Binder: Cuban
Filler: Cuban
Vitola: 6 ⅛ x 52
Price: $ 12

I notice the shade on this particular Montecristo 2 to be very dark compared to some I have smoked in the past. Cuban cigars are packed with identical wrapper shades, purely for aesthetics. The wrapper is also oily, smooth, and without visible flaws. In my hand the cigar feels uniform and firm.

With a box date of Dec. 2015, this Monte 2 should be more than ready to smoke.

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

Flavor and Smoke

Upon toasting and lighting my Monte 2, I am greeted by a pleasant anise note, which is common to most Cubans for me. Accompanying is toasted marshmallow, with a finish of sweet cocoa. The overall flavor profile is smooth and delicious. While I hardly detect any spice so far, I am not craving it either, the profile is satisfying the way it is.

FullSizeRender (2).jpg

Now about 30 minutes into my delicious Monte 2, I notice a bit of cedar ramping up, replacing the more creamy toasted marshmallow I was previously savoring. The anise darkens nicely.

FullSizeRender (3).jpg

Smoke output has been on the thin side for the first portion, but now, just before the halfway point, my Monte produces a decent amount of smoke.

FullSizeRender (4).jpg

The final third is darkening substantially, the sugar sweetness has turned into a dark molasses nuance, while the smoke becomes thick and chewy. An added bitter grass makes it’s way into the mix, while not the best flavor profile at this point, it is surprisingly not putrid.

FullSizeRender (5).jpg

Before the nub of my Monte 2, I pick up a bit of graham cracker note, but the profile as a whole remains dark and toasty, bordering bitterness.

Final Thoughts

IMG_4805.JPG

The Cuban Montecristo No. 2 is a cigar with a wonderful and smooth flavor profile, it has enough power to satisfy those who smoke regularly without overwhelming those who puff less frequently.

Construction-wise, the ash held for about an inch before falling, only one touch-up was needed during the beginning.

The Monte is one of my favorite Cuban cigars, and unlike most Cubans, is ready to smoke right out of the box and rarely has quality control issues. I highly recommend the Montecristo No. 2.

My emoji rating: 🤗
(🤢😖☹️😕😐🙂😀😋🤗😍)
Smoke time: 1.5 hours
Cigar paired with: Sailor Jerry Rum
Price opinion: 👍🏻
Recommend/buy again? indeed, if you can find them from a legit shop, remember Cuban cigars are highly counterfeited.

Sort:  

Thanks @gregm ! one of my all time favorites - haven't had one in a while - keep puffing man

Thank you sir!

a classic that I can not miss @gregm! nice post

the cigar boy gregm haha :)

This Looks like a Royal Cigar made with Elegance touch ;) perfect

Yes it is quite good indeed. :)

La información lo dice todo, es un puro muy bien terminado, la presentacion es excelente
Que lo disfrutes @gregm

@gregm but it's bad things of your health. I thinks you need to leave these things just because for your health :))

Tell it to 112 year old Richard Overton: https://steemit.com/cigars/@gregm/richard-overton-to-turn-111-with-cigars-whiskey-and-new-street-name

Bad for health, says who, do you know anything about cigar smoking?

It is proven to be of no harm in moderation, and I argue cigar smoking is even healthy by de-stressing your mind and body.

Please do not lump unhealthy cigarette smoking with cigar puffing.

Sorry @gregm but I'm read on internet Yaa really not much things knows about cigar!!

No problem, I appreciate your concern.. Steem On! :)

Yes keep calm and steem on and thanks for sharing things about cigar and my doubt is clears after reads that articles:))

montecristo habana @gregm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62