A Brief Cigar Review - Ashton VSG Enchantment

in #cigars7 years ago

The Enchantment is quite a cool looking and unique shape cigar, it is a perfecto pyramid nub with a box press. The VSG, or Virgin Sun Grown is a 2nd tier line of the Ashton brand, is a Dominican Puro with quite a fan base. I’ve hung on to this particular VSG for a few years, just because it is a neat looking cigar.

FullSizeRender (10).jpg

Prelight

Wrapper: Dominican Republic
Binder: Dominican Republic
Filler: Dominican Republic
Vitola: 4 3/8 x 60 - Perfecto
Price: $10

Beyond it’s cool shape, the Ashton VSG has an ornate band and a wrapper that is dark chocolate brown with a lovely oil sheen.

Flavor and Smoke

The first third exudes flavor notes of sweet cedar, mint, and a white pepper spice. The smoke output is cloudy, and the retrohale nice, yet not velvet smooth.

FullSizeRender (13).jpg

The VSG is on the fuller flavored side of the spectrum, and quite powerful after my light cobb salad:
FullSizeRender (4).jpg

At the halfway point, where the ring gauge begins to narrow, the flavor profile darkens slightly. And adds a slight cocoa undertone. However, overall the flavors are dry. The burn line did need a little touch up previously but now is even as can be and the ash holds nicely.

FullSizeRender (11).jpg

The final third provides no great changes. The VSG Enchantment fails to impress me, but it is in no way a bad cigar. The flavor profile just doesn’t jive with my taste buds when price is taken into account.

FullSizeRender (12).jpg

Final Thoughts

IMG_6072.JPG

I do love Ashton, but have come to the conclusion that the VSG line is my least favorite, I even prefer the classic standard line above the VSG. For me the flavor profile on the VSG has an dryness to it that is hard to get past, but I find this with a lot of sun grown wrapped cigars.

If you love sun grown cigars, you will dig the Ashton VSG Enchantment. The price is a bit steep for a small cigar, but the craftsmanship of such a unique shape justifies it.

My emoji rating:😐/🙂
(🤢😖☹️😕😐🙂😀😋🤗😍)
Smoke time: 50 minutes
Cigar paired with: Appleton Estates Rum
Price opinion: 👍🏻
Recommend/buy again? Probably not

Sort:  

Nice review this is the first time I am seeing cigar reviews.
Somebody said smoking will cause pregnancy then I stopped smoking.

Haha!! I have been posting about cigars for a year... , but I am pretty much the only one, a few posts here and there.

Maybe that is why I have 4 kids...

Keep posting; I have followed.... I prefer milder sticks and have a preference for Davidoff, but always up to get the scoop on new smokes.

Thanks! I used to love milder sticks, but recently have really enjoyed Padron and some other darker ones. The ones that try and be too strong just to be strong I don't care for.

Davidoff, very good mild smokes. I just ordered some Davidoff Colorado Short Perfecto's and receive them tomorrow, I can't wait to try one.

Awesome! Enjoy. Having a Davidoff Signature Ambassadrice right now.

MMmmm, very nice!

I have some funny posts (I feel) feel free to check if time left after smoking.

Will do, thanks! :)

Maybe if you don't inhale you'll be ok :-)
Glad I found a couple of people on Steemit that are also into cigars.

Too funny!!

That all looks good. The cigar flavor I will have to try sometime. Sounds like something I would enjoy.

Hey Greg thanks for the review on this. I've smoked a few VSGs but never this size. The first one I had tasted great to me but the second one was not as good. Not sure if that was due to what I was pairing them with or not. I forgot what I was drinking. I do have a couple of them left so I'll give it another shot. As for other Ashton cigars, I have not tried them yet, but I'd like to. A friend of mine at work recommended an Ashton Chruchill. Have you had one of those?

Thanks for reading!
Yeah the Ashton churchill is the classic standard Ashton in the churchill size.. a buddy of mine smokes those a lot now. I haven't had that size but I do really like the classic line. They are cheaper than the VSG too.
👍

Short but sweet!

Ha thanks, this one was my shortest ever.. lol, I was a little buzzed and tired but wanted to get it up there.

Nice post and i like it...thank you so much sharing your life styles with us...keep it up... GOD BLESS YOU @gregm

Thank you , God Bless!

nice post ,,, you have good blog , Good luck. Comrade

Thank you!

I am @trustedliar and I give away free random upvotes and create free competitions with prizes.

Follow me for upcoming contests and a chance of a random free upvote, every 6 hours.

Keep on Steemin'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93