A Brief Cigar Review - Arturo Fuente Rosado Magnum R

in #cigars8 years ago (edited)

The Rosado from Fuente is one of the newer offerings by the cigar family. It is more of a mellow-medium body smoke with a unique wrapper that is 10 year old sun grown. It is the same tobacco leaf that Fuente uses on it's other sun grown cigars, except it is from a lower priming. This give is a softer feel, and less of a dry taste that sun grown leaf tends to give.

Wrapper: Ecuadoran Sungrown Sumatra
Binder: Dominican Republic
Filler: Dominican Republic
Size: 5 x 52
MSRP: $7  

While cigar shopping for a Christmas present, I had to pick up a couple sticks for myself of course. One was the Fuente Rosado, which I have smoked a few previously and quite enjoyed. The wrapper has a reddish brown hue with fine veins. The wrapper itself is soft to the touch. The feel of the cigar is not very firm, yet not squishy. After a punch cut, the pre-light draw has a little bit of cedar and sweetness, while the scent of the cigar is that of cocoa and barnyard.

Right off the bat, the Rosado has a lot of sweetness to it. I almost forgot that I have described the Rosado to many of my friends as, "the sweetest non-infused cigar out there." The profile has a large amount of cashew/nut flavors, some salted dark caramel, and slight mellow pepper. I also notice a faint creamy cocoa, like if you make chocolate milk without enough syrup. I do not pick up any earth or leather type notes.

 
The sweetness of the smoke is really unique, I would love to investigate further if this is caused by the filler leaf blend, or the lower priming (lower leaf on the tobacco plant) used in the sun-grown wrapper. Harvesting is done bottom to top, lower primings are taken off of tobacco plants first.

After the midway point, the flavors darken into more of a burnt caramel, blackened cashews, and cedar undertones. Still the earth notes including cedar are very faint. The smoke remains creamy, and salty, and sweet.

I have been pairing the Rosado Magnum with simple whiskey and coca-cola. It tends to do the job with almost every cigar, however, there are definitely better options. I should have went with something not as sweet, so the sweetness of the Rosado could shine even more. I can see it being paired well with coffee in the morning. 

I love the Fuente Rosado, it is a cigar that is well-balanced and everything about it works together. The Rosado produces an attractive solid white ash. It maintains a burn line that's almost perfect. The smoking time was about an hour and a half. I would love to see the Rosado in a smaller ring size like a long lancero, to get the wrapper flavor concentrated into the whole profile even more. Currently it is available in ring gauges of 52, 54, 56. 

The Rosado Magnum is a solid medium strength and body cigar. It is not going to knock anyone on their backside regardless of what time of day it is smoked. If you haven't smoked one yet, it is a cigar you can look forward to trying.

I rate the Arturo Fuente Rosado Magnum R  8.75/10

Sort:  

Hello @gregm,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Good post
Haven't run into too many Fuentes I didn't like. I haven't had the pleasure of this one yet but I will be looking for it now.

Thank you, and I agree, Fuente is one of my all time favorite. I love the Don Carlos, Hemingway, Anejo, and of course Opusx. I really think you will like the Rosado and feel the price is worth it. You can find them anywhere.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 22. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.21 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 22 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I'm going to be looking at my cigars in a whole new light after reading your reviews. It helps me to understand the qualities a connoisseur of cigars would be looking for. I might even be able to keep up with the conversation at the cigar shop!

Fantastic! I am glad I can help. I sent the winning cigars yesterday BTW.

My advise would be to just enjoy smoking cigars, but to also pay attention to the cigar. A lot of people like to do things like driving, mowing the lawn, etc while puffing a cigar. That is fine, but its best to opt for lower end and/or inexpensive cigars, or a good basic one you enjoy while doing activities that require constant attention. Otherwise you will miss out on some of the goodness a really great cigar can offer.

Also, just enjoy the cigar (or don't if it sucks), be honest with how you feel about it, get to know what you like and dislike about cigars in general. Everyone is different. Sometimes a review is just: "This cigar is damn good, I can't define the flavors, but they are good whatever they are." Just enjoy, and eventually the palette develops and you get that ah HAH moment.

If you haven't yet, try retro-hailing every couple puffs, this greatly enhances the flavors.

Anyway I am rambling, and please pardon me if I have gone into things you are already experienced with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51367.14
ETH 2266.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01