The Things I Do For Gertie - Flash Dystopian Fiction 500 Entry

in #chronocrypto-dystopian6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the #chronocrypto-dystopian Flash Dystopian Fiction 500 Contest.

The Things I Do For Gertie

"Meat is murder."

The woman is staring daggers at me and my pastrami sandwich.

Gotta love those vegan types.

"Lady", I tell her between two large bites, "murder is what I do for a living. Can I get back to my sandwich now?"

She looks at me as if I spoke something unintelligible. They always do; they'd rather convince themselves they misheard or something. Gotta love the power of denial, too.

I bite a large piece of deli meat and chew it with my mouth wide open, just to piss her off. She gives me the finger and walks away, grumbling.

I chuckle and check my watch. T minus two minutes. Crap, I'm running late.

I wolf down the rest of my sandwich, almost choking in the process. I take out a can of Omnifabric and spray dark grey fabric all over me, neck to toes. Water soluble spandex-in-a-can. I look ridiculous. On the bright side, it affords me anonymity.

I put on a full face helmet and hop onto my Yamaha MT-12. I say "my", but it's, of course, stolen. As if I could afford such an expensive bike. No, I'll be driving home in my old station wagon once this is over.

I step on it and thunder through the lunch break traffic. It's T minus one now, I'm cutting it too close.

The target is going to be at Vic's. Fat lady, early fifties, bombastic hairdo. I've dubbed her Vera. It's as good a name as any. She's probably going to be waiting in line for her daily dose of quintessential New York street food, wishing her lunch break was longer.

Well, I can help with that. In fact, she won't be going back to her office anytime soon. Or, like, ever.

I can see Vic's. I slow down and scan the crowd of office people. There's Vera, holding a dirty water dog in each hand and waiting to cross the street.

It's show time.

I activate my wired reflexes and the world slows down almost to a halt. I pull out my handgun, carefully point it at Vera's head, and pull the trigger twice. Pop, pop. Goodbye Vera, it was nice not knowing you.

I don't even wait to see her fall. I know I shot straight, so what's the point? I got a getaway to make.

I speed up and zigzag through traffic, running red light after red light. At some point, I toss my handgun in a small park fountain. It's a 3D-printed water-soluble disposable. It goes up in thousands of bubbles, like an effervescent tablet.

As I ride away, a notification pops up on my HUD: the funds just got transferred to my account.

Good.

I feel kind of bad for Vera, I do. But then I picture Gertie giving me her lopsided smile, showing off the new braces Vera's money are going to buy her, and it all goes away.

I look out for my kid. So sue me.

Liked this one? Vote, comment, and share with your literary-inclined friends!

Find more Steem Powered Stories at #steempoweredstories!

Sort:  

If you have not done so already please submit your Submission Fee for the Contest. Thank you for your great story, Can't wait to read it side by side with the other contestants.

well this is all like twenty years away.

Goodbye Vera, it was nice not knowing you.

Why am I cheering for this?!?

It may sound like banter, but it's (intended to be) one of the most important lines of the piece.

The theme is dystopia, after all, but I thought I'd do away with the usual doom and gloom and write something more subtle.

oh no, i meant i enjoyed that line then questioned myself for rooting for the killer. i enjoyed your story

Thank you, it means a lot!

Cool, like this piece :). I love the idea of a water soluble 3D print gun, really innovative!

Thanks, I really had fun writing it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64168.93
ETH 2768.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72