Christmas Art Challenge by @jacinta.sevilla I Signal for Connection

in #christmastwist6 years ago

contest-entry.png

In that lonely evening of the house of mouse, Huey, Dewey and Louie were surprised to see that they will be graced with a white Christmas. The boys were thrilled but this surprise came at an expense. Their beloved Uncle Donald will not be able to see them as the snow's prevent him from flying to them. Mickey Mouse, the kind heart he was, tried his best to bring some Christmas cheer for the boys but in their hearts, they truly wanted to their see their uncle.

So our dear Mickey came with a plan. "I'll use my phone's data!" he announced. "The boys can use it as a hotspot so they can talk with Donald!"

Ah, but the snow has made his connection quite weak. As the sun fell in horizon, a beacon of hope lit up: a Christmas tree, tall and mighty, perhaps tall enough for the mouse to climb and get better coverage...

_________________________________________________________________________________

This is for @jacinta.sevilla 's Christmas Art Challenge. This is quite a challenge for me because a) I don't draw anthropomorphic animals very often and b)my time is limited due to my assignments building up. Such as university life lol.

Anyways, I'd thought I try this out cause it seemed pretty fun. Now I don't really celebrate Christmas but I do watch a lot of Christmas specials. The Disney Channel has plenty of those when I was growing up glued to the giant box of the TV set and when our Astro still used a satellite dish. I had somewhat of a generalized idea what Christmas is about.

So I'm born in the month of April so my prompt was wifi.

I had no idea what to do initially.

Like nothing came to mind. It's quite unusual for my family to have wifi or any technology during the holidays. We're a very "holidays is family time, not computer time" type during the holidays. So I kept thinking and thinking. The only thing that came up was:

  • Mickey trying to get wifi

  • Mickey banning wifi

And I wanted to push it to some form of extreme because cartoons, man... Then I thought back to those old Christmas specials and I remembered that there was one short that had the spirit of giving as a theme. Now I have a story! Yay!

Once I had the story down, I just jumped into it. I had some free time today (this week I am packed af) and drew this out. It's a little more doodly and not as refined as I'd like but at the same time I do like it, it somewhat reminds of those soft illustrations I'd see in kid's books so I think it kinda fits.

contest-entry-process.gif

Thanks for reading (even if it's a little shorter than what I usually blabber about)~! See you next post!

Sort:  

Congratulations @hanbun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @hanbun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Oh my gosh this is lovely!!! Its so cute!!!
Even with time constraints you've done a spectacular job at it!
Thank you!

@jacinta.servilla uwu thank you~ I'm just glad to participant

i like your original works. good job. i will like to see more of your best.

Thank you @hollacute . I'll be sure to post more when my schedule frees up

This is so awesome. Glad to see Mickey got some wifi for the boys. Awesome Gif at the end.

Aww shenks~ Mickey's always the helpful kind of guy of course

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43