I am Enviousā€¦šŸ˜”

in #christmas ā€¢ 7 years ago

Merry Christmas Steemians!! šŸŽ…ā˜ƒļø


Credit

I would like to share to you my writing I made when I was still in high school for our journalism class. It was about 10 years ago. I feel a bit old already. To give you a background, back then, my father and sister were working abroad. But now, my father is still working out of the country with my brother. My sister has already returned to the Philippines to work.

So here it goes...

ā€œC is for the candy around the Christmas tree, H is for the happinessā€¦ā€ this is one of the earworms during the Christmas season that I myself was infected. Singing carols and giving gifts are just the common stuffs that happen during the holidays. Before anything else, curiosity filled my mind. What is Christmas by the way? Is it really just for spending and singing carols and stuffs?


Credit

As I know, Christmas was the time that the child Jesus was born. He was conceived by Mary. And guess what? When Mary was to give birth, no family ever offered their homes for Mary and Joseph. So, in Bethlehem, they stayed in a manger. They joined the company of the donkeys and cattle. How simple the Holy Family was! Then, the three kings who sought Jesus, offered him great that one cannot refuse! Maybe, it was the time that people get the idea of offering gifts on Christmas day. And it is also the time that the people rejoice since it is the nativity of the Messiah.


Credit

For some, they spend their Christmas on visiting their loved ones and giving them hugs and kisses. Some even jumped at the chance of having a reunion with friends and family.

But, I wasnā€™t after all one of those happy people. I do not feel like celebrating Christmas this year. I canā€™t feel the excitement of putting up the well-decorated Christmas tree, the colorful parol, the glittering Christmas lights, and all those Christmas decors! I donā€™t feel like singing Christmas carols and buying gifts for my friends. It's like my Christmas would be gloomy this year.


Credit

Honestly, I am envious with these people. I am envious with how they eat with their whole family, how they share their smiles with them and how happy they are! Yes, you got it. My family is physically not complete this Christmas. My father is apparently working in Saudi Arabia while my sister took a job in Dubai. It is only my brother and mother who are celebrating Christmas with me this year.

Though my father and sister are not celebrating the yuletide season with me this year, it is like my yuletide season is not gloomy after all! Fortunately, my uncles, aunts and cousins stayed with us this Christmas. This would be my first Christmas that Iā€™m going to celebrate with them. Opposite than what I expected, my Christmas was a bit fun!

I do understand that my family have to work hard to provide everything, the best for me. They wanted me to experience or feel the comforts and joys of life. I extremely appreciate the sacrifices that they have to take for my sake. And now, Iā€™m truly inspired to study well for me to give in return the ā€˜paghihirapā€™ they have done.

So, this Christmas time, my family is still complete. Though not physically, but Iā€™m pretty sure that we are much bonded together. And no distance can cut our strong bondage.

How I spent my Christmas this year?

Fortunately, my father's yearly vacation fall during the Christmas season. We get to spend the holidays together as a family. Though not entirely complete this Christmas (since my brother's vacation was before December), we still enjoyed the occasion.

2017-12-25 07.43.50 1.jpg
Pigging out with my family

Technology has been a big help nowadays. We can see our loved ones who are miles away from us and even be updated with their status. Spending Christmas online is already acceptable and can alleviate getting homesick.

Be Thankful

Every Christmas, let's remember why we celebrate it in the first place and put into mind its true meaning.

Credit

Love lots,

@wandergirl ā¤ļø

You can also check out my other posts here...

December: Busiest month of the year! šŸŽ…ā˜ƒļø
Throwback Thursday: LOVE on TOP at OsmeƱa Peak ā¤ļø šŸ”

Sort: Ā 

Hi there, do not forget to upvote resteem and follow me as i will do the same for you. Click here to see my latest vlog https://steemit.com/dtube/@jawadakhtar88/63pzttan

This is a very good post

Thanks @licky! Merry Christmas!

Though not physically, but Iā€™m pretty sure that we are much bonded together. And no distance can cut our strong bondage.

I agree. Even if you're miles apart, the bond you share with your family will always be there and will make you feel so close. Merry Christmas!

Indeed @brokemancode! As long as the communication line is open and the will to communicate is there, that bond will never be broken. Merry Christmas!

Very true! Technology is there to bridge those who are far from each other.

Merry Christmas @wandergirl! I can feel where you're coming from. I know how it feels because my father was once an OFW in Bahrain. All we can do is do our best in what we do as an act of gratitude to them. We should be thankful because these people sacrificed themselves just to provide the best for us.

Merry Christmas @ybanezkim26! It's sad to hear stories of OFWs with families left at home not spending justly the money provided to them and not even thankful for the sacrifices of their OFW loved ones.

Yeah. We hear them a lot.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62