You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Advent Calendar – 6 Dec – Are we all set for the Xmas game?

in #christmas6 years ago

What a great game and the way to take the stress out of trying to buy tons of presents when you have a large family.
I don’t have many to buy for anymore..Hubby ..and if we go over to my sister’s place in Nova Scotia, I take presents for her, her hubby and son. Also I take homemade fruitcake, gumdrop cake and their favorite, gingermen cookies.
No exchange now with my two brothers and their families as they live in different provinces. It costs more to mail a present than the present is worth. We just phone/ video chat each other greetings over Christmas.

Sort:  

I always make homemade fruit cake, and have sometimes made gluten free gingerbread cookies. I wondered if gumdrop cake was similar to what we might call lolly cake, but ours is made from crushed up malt biscuits and sweetened condensed milk, so isn't actually cake.

https://www.chelsea.co.nz/browse-recipes/lolly-cake/

The Lolly Cake looks yummy and festive for the season, Deb. I don’t think I’ve seen malt biscuits in the store...will have to check. Maybe a different name for them here.
I made a dark and light fruitcake...homemade always seems to taste so much better.

Having a look around, it seems like the dark malt biscuits we have here and Australia are not made anywhere else. But you could probably make it similar with any plain biscuit, like the ones we call Arrowroot, or Wine biscuits. You could always add a spoonful or malt, or maybe molasses.

When @andyaantics48 makes the roll, I think she might also put glace cherries in to make it even more Xmassy. It is extremely sweet though - just a thin slice is usually enough!

I saw your recipe for a white xmas cake (I think it was you) with coconut. At some stage, I might have a go at seeing if I can convert it to starch free. It would probably work fine with ground almonds and coconut flour, like my other one. I agree homemade is better. Bought cakes seem a bit dry to me.

We have arrowroot biscuits here. Yes the white fruitcake with coconut turned out nicely. It was one my mother used to make, I think it would turn out great with the ground almonds and coconut flour. Here is recipe : It filled an angel food (funnel) pan.
Coconut White Fruitcake
Soak in 1/2 C. Brandy overnight
1 pkg dark raisins
1 pkg golden raisins
1 cup red cherries (glazed)
1 cup green cherries (glazed)
1 cup mixed fruit
2 cups flaked coconut
The next day in large mixing bowl,
Cream: 1 cup soft butter with 1 1/2 cup of white sugar
Add: 4 eggs...beating one at a time
1 cup milk
1/2 lb. of slivered blanched almonds
Beat well and add:
2 and 3/4 cups of flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking Soda
2 tsp vanilla
Mix well with the brandy drenched ingredients.
Bake at low oven temperature 200 F-225 F (110C) for approximately 2 hrs.
Let cake cool completely before removing from pan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63455.85
ETH 2722.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58