30 Days to Self Discover- Day 7steemCreated with Sketch.

in #christmas7 years ago

Whats your opinion on tradition and Christmas?

I've spent the last 10 years gathering little tidbits of other traditions and celebrations.

I remember thinking as a little child how Santa made it all the way around the world, delivering presents to all the boys and girls, in just one night.

Now I know its because a great deal of the world, does not celebrate Jolly Ol' St. Nic and the other half, celebrates him -in my opinion - a day early; the 24th of December.

My Christmas feast has been a multi-coloured trip around the world. From Ukrainian cabbage rolls to Japanese sponge cake.

I've shared my table with Germans, Australians, Danes, Norwegians, Chinese and South Africans - just to name a few.

I've decorated a christmas palm and a big spruce tree. I've worn chunky christmas sweaters to keep me warm on cold Christmas days and bathing suits and cold showers on hot Christmas days.

Regardless of the weather, the language or the food, I've noticed one theme that seems to be a part of culture:

Togetherness.

Marina Del Castell.jpg
Photo Credit: Marina Del Castell

So whats my opinion on Christmas?

Tradition is important. It doesn't matter what traditions your family or friends have chosen to adopt. But like sacred rituals, traditions are important gatherings and events that remind us of one of the most important human needs: togetherness.

Christmas for me, would be a dreary day, if it wasn't for the families that have welcomed me into their homes and my nomadic friends that have shared a table with me.

🎄 🎅 🎆 H A P P Y H O L I D A Y S 🎆 🎅 🎄

Sort:  

Congratulations @megnteglbjaerg! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @megnteglbjaerg! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56299.59
ETH 2984.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22