December 18th - Make Today A Special Day... Not Business as Usual

in #christmas8 years ago

This is the second day of guest hosting this wonderful initiative for @gavvet. As I mentioned in my previous post, I truly admire this initiative... even though I'm not very religious.

One may think today's theme of "Honoring the Sabbath" would be difficult for someone like me... but it is not. If you look more closely at the core of today's theme, you will see that it is about making one day of the week truly special. Let's make that day today.

For some, this will mean attending a religious service of some type. For others, they may set aside time to pray. I can make this day special and serve others in my own unique way as well.

Today's theme is about making today special... not letting it be another "business as usual" day.



As I looked through the list of suggested activities, two really jumped out at me.

First: "Turn off your phone". Our smartphones are amazing tools, but they are also huge distractions. I'm going to tell my wife and kids that I am going to turn off my phone and really be here for them today. I am also going to do my best to make this a weekly habit. Even if I can't do it for a full day, showing my family that they are more important than a text, an email, a phone call or sports update is essential.

Second: "Invite someone over for Sunday dinner". This suggestion made me think back to my childhood. It seemed like every week we had a large family dinner at my grandmother's house. I remember those meals as being some of my favorite of my entire life... and my grandma wasn't a very good cook. It was the time spent laughing that made those meals special. Why can't I do this? Why can't I invite my brothers and parents over for pizza tonight (I'm a terrible cook too... grandma would be proud!) The answer is that I can and I will.

Perhaps this video can help to inspire you to make today special...


This is the eighteenth way of serving in 25 ways over 25 days leading up to Christmas.

Would you like to make today special and not let it be "business as usual"?

Its easy:
1. Watch the short clip
2. Follow the instructions
3. Make it happen
4. Then tweet or otherwise share your results using... #lighttheworld... encourage others to participate
5. 25 days is enough consistency to form a new habit

If every day this December we are slightly more mindful of others we may find ourselves with a new great habit to continue into the new year and beyond.

THREE SIMPLE WAYS TO GET INVOLVED

  • Visit a family member.
  • Attend a religious service in your area.
  • Turn off your phone for a few hours today.

OTHER WAYS TO PARTICIPATE

  • Memorize a favorite scripture or religious quote.
  • Discover your ancestors by researching your family history. FamilySearch can help you get started.
  • Invite someone over for Sunday dinner.
  • Spend some time updating, or starting, your own personal history.
  • Write down some ways you can draw closer to God.
  • Tomorrow, support a business that closes on Sunday.
  • Visit JustServe.org for more ways to #LIGHTtheWORLD in your community (U.S. and Canada only).

More detail and the embedded links can be found directly from this link

https://www.mormon.org/christmas/in-25-ways-over-25-days/jesus-honored-the-sabbath

Image Link

Sort:  

Be the reason someone smiles today :) Love it!

Thanks! I stumbled across that by searching "make today special". Yep making someone smile is special! And you already have. It made me smile that you read this and commented. ;)

Hi @hanshotfirst

We also have a family tradition to eat lunch at my parents house on Sundays, they always have the lunch, we just need to let them know if we will attend. In this way the entire family gets together regularly. (Obviously we cannot be at my parents house all the time as all of us are married and need to attend to our spouses families as well.)

That is awesome. I really need to get back in this habit and make it a permanent thing. I am really happy for you and your family.

Whether you are religious or not I think we all need to take a short pause. The holidays are a great excuse - that was kind of one of the reasons to give everyone certain days off. Further doing something positive with that time can be very good for your inner well-being - particularly if you do something for someone else.

I agree with you 100%. Nothing puts you in a better mood than helping someone else!

Thank you for keeping the light shining. Upped and followed.

Thanks! I have had a lot of fun so far. Can't wait to write tomorrow's!

RS and UV for you! I have tried hard to show people and when needed -- discuss the phone-off thing for lots of reasons -- we are becoming zombies and connected to things at the expense of connecting to people -- people that matter.

Great stuff, keep up the good work. Have a good week

Thanks! All you can do is role model. Perhaps it will catch on with some people around you.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $8.35 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33