Christmas (presents) cancelled

in #christmas5 years ago

Don't blame me, I didn't cancel it - I'm just an innocent victim of the cancellation of Christmas and I don't like it any more than the next person!

We all love Christmas don't we? What's not to like? I'll be honest the true meaning of Christmas is really important to me, you know: Days off work, food and presents...It doesn't matter what order they come in; The true meaning of Christmas simply means a lot to me. This year however it seems Christmas is cancelled and it sucks!

Let me explain.

Firstly, Christmas isn't cancelled everywhere - In fact here, where I am, Christmas is on like donkey kong and I've got a cracker one planned. That is to say, I'm planning to plan a great one. My brother will be here for the first time in years, as will his wife and 18 month-old, who I have not met. That will be cool. So, Christmas here is very much not cancelled.

In Finland it's a very different story.

Christmas, that traditional time of days off, food and presents, has been cancelled. It is, very much not happening or as Google translate tells me in Finnish "ei tapahdu." [This could actually mean anything other than what I intend it to - Blame Google, not me.]

Over the last few days I've tried to send a package full of Christmas presents to @smallsteps in Finland and because Finland is a gazillion miles away one has to post early. The problem is that Australia Post have suspended all mail to Finland - BECAUSE CHRISTMAS HAS BEEN CANCELLED! WTF?! src

The cancellation has been brought about by a postal-worker strike in Finland, the land of Father bloody Christmas by the way, and Australia Post will not send items there. I assume it has something to do with the items stacking up somewhere in the land of no Christmas with no postal workers around to unload or process them.

Don't they like Christmas? Do they not want Finnish children to get presents? Good one Finnish postal workers - Thanks for nothing!

In actual fact I think it has something to do with the Union seeking a better bargaining agreement for their members with Posti, the employer, who seems to be an asshole. The National Conciliator, Vuokko Piekkala, announced the strike last week, apparently a two-week strike action, that could push out to four weeks...So yeah, Chistmas is cancelled y'all.

Australia Post told me today they have a freeze on all outgoing mail to Finland because of the strike, at least until the 26th of November which means @smallsteps won't get her Christmas presents on time. Thanks a lot Vuokko Piekkala!

I'm a bit annoyed because we get so much enjoyment out of watching videos of smallsteps opening packages from us. Now she won't be able to experience the true meaning of Christmas - Presents! Well she will I guess, but not cool presents from her coolest uncle! [That's me.]

If the strike doesn't lift we're going to re-wrap the Christmas presents with Australia flag paper and call them Australia Day presents - It's a better reason to get presents anyway. She'll get them either way I guess. Come on Posti, treat your employees better so they can lift the strike!


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default

Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

P.s. I'm all for workers getting a fair go and don't blame the Finnish Post and Logistics Union's (PAU) drive for better conditions for the 10,000 workers who work for Posti. @smallsteps won't understand though - Or maybe she will...She's bloody intelligent.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Use a private courier, that little girl deserves her Christmas presents on time!

I know right? I was going to take them there myself but $3,000 in airfare is a little more than I can spare for a present delivery. I'm investigating a courier at the moment. DHL I think will work.

Hey, did I get Google get the Finnish right?

It is, very much not happening or as Google translate tells me in Finnish "ei tapahdu." [This could actually mean anything other than what I intend it to - Blame Google, not me.]

Getting it wrong would be as embarrassing as forgetting about putting autovotes on a person and then ranting about it. 😘

Haha yes it’s technically right, but I’d say peruttu (cancelled) instead of ei tapahdu. Not happening just sounds wrong.

Yes I think you should use Dhl, from my experience, it works better than Ups.

Getting it wrong would be as embarrassing as forgetting about putting autovotes on a person and then ranting about it.

I deserved that one.

Eve, if I wrote a book about all the wacky things I've done it would be a long one. I've learned to accept the fact I do dumb things sometimes, and just roll with it. We're all fallible. In fact, in my opinion, it's those little moments that give personality - Certainly when the person laughs it off. One of the most valuable things I have learned in life is to laugh at myself.

So yes, the not happening part was supposed to sound odd in english...Maybe it just sounds odder in Finnish. I'm an odd-ball after all.

Legit. :)

I'm going to quote up DHL tonight and see what the damage is. Or should I say...the vahingoittaa?

Lol.

Oh don't worry, I'm pretty good at laughing at myself and I don't take myself too seriously, most of the time.

I figured you did it on purpose, you write good English generally so you can play around a bit.

Yep, sometimes I write stuff that seems clunky or odd, just seems fun sometimes. Adds personality.

I laugh at myself all the time...I've done some cringe-worthy things. No choice but to own it, and have a laugh.

I blame @celestal.

Smallsteps will be okay and what we will do is have a hobbit Christmas, Second Christmas.

Yeah, his fault! To be honest I'm all for a bit of enterprise bargaining. Asshole companied lord it over their slaves employees and it's wrong.

Secondsies huh? I eat like a Hobbit mostly. You know I ain't lying! Might as well christmas like one too.

Well worth the ticket to may a personal delivery I would say! Or gift a ticket instead! Easier said than done, I know...

Posted using Partiko iOS

@tarazkp said he'd shout me a ticket. I don't believe him though. Still waiting.

LOL! I have some airline miles to donate for the cause! but it may take a million for that route!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Aww, thanks mate. Appreciated. I think @smallsteps can go without Aussie awesomeness for a week or so. I'm considering DHL though. We'll see.

Hope it gets resolved soon and the presents can be sent!

How dare you!?! 😱

:)

Read the follow up. Christmas is back on, no thanks at all to the Finnish postal service.

I did.. I just really wanted to say that. 😃

Glad it got worked out! ❤️

Haha, ok then...Just didn't want you mad with me...I reckon you'd do mad really well. :)

Haha, well I was just called bitchy.. so I guess it depends on who you ask 🤪

Hope you are well 🤗

Bitchy I can deal with...People getting mad at me...It makes me laugh which in turn makes them more mad. Depends who they are though...I reckon if you got mad at me I'd kinda think it was funny and that would probably not end well for me. :)

I'm well, 1pm Friday here. Just finishing up my working week and getting ready to enter weekend-mode. Hope you are too. Well, I mean.

🤔 hmmmm but laughing might make the mad person laugh, therefore making them not mad anymore.

... or it could get something thrown at you.. this is complicated.

But no, I’m not internet mad at you.. but you can laugh anyways 🙂

Oh yay weekend! Well it’s still Thursday here.. cause I’m not from the future .. but going to the mountains for the weekend, so I’m pretty excited. Maybe I’ll even remember to take photos so I can post about something before 2020.

Will you be working on your dudiour photo entries this weekend?

Mountains sounds good. Take some photos. I may grab some this weekend as well - New camera and all.

Edit: Feel free to get mad at me to test the theories you suggest. :)

Was a good time to have a holiday if everyone at Posti are just striking, I don't know how money stuff goes with strikes, but I assume I wouldn't get as much as working.

Here strike action means no pay...Not sure how it works there. Hope it all works out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72