Paris by night - See my favourite walking route in the French capital

in #christmas6 years ago

So tomorrow will be my last day in Paris for 2017 when I'll be going home to Norway for Christmas. Needless to say, I look forward to seeing family and friends again, but it also occurred to me that I had hardly gotten to see and experience the Christmas atmosphere in Paris this year. So once I was done at work today, I went out for a walk around what has become my favourite route since I moved here last year.

Louve front Paris France Steemit Fredrikaa.jpg
Join me on the trip from my apartment in Paris up to the Louvre in the city centre!

From where I live in the 13th arrondissement, it's a short way to the Latin Quarters, my favourite place to hang out on a weekend to watch a football game or have a drink.

Latin Quarter Paris France Steemit Fredrikaa.jpg
Place de la Contrescarpe in the Latin Quarter in Paris. Great place to come together for a drink any day of the week!

From, there, you're just a hundred meters away from the Pantheon, also in the Latins quarter.

The pantheon christmas paris steemit fredrikaa.jpg
The Pantheon in the Latin Quarter of Paris

From the Pantheon, the road north takes you straight to the Notre Dame. Arriving from one side of the Seine river, I find the cathedral perhaps even more beautiful than from the front.

Notre Dame night Paris France steemit Fredrikaa.jpg
Notre Dame seen from the south eastern side of the river

Notre Dame Christmas Night Fredrikaa Steemit.jpg
Notre Dame seen from the front with a well decorated Christmas Tree

After the Notre Dame, crossing the Seine again and walking west along the river will take you directly to the Louvre.

Outside the Louvre Paris France Steemit Fredrikaa.jpg
Outside the entrance to the Louvre

I must admit, as I am not at all the kind of person to go visit Museum, that despite walking outside the Louvre at least 20 times, I'm yet to pay the museum a visit. From peeking inside the windows though, I must say that it looks quite impressive!

Louvre inside Paris France Steemit Fredrikaa.jpg
A sneak peek inside the Louvre as seen from one of the windows

Whether it is during the day or during the evening, I find the outdoor area with the glass pyramid really attractive! I can easily just stand and look at it for an hour, or walk around it peeking down through the glass.

The louvre by night Paris France Steemit Fredrikaa.jpg
Picture of the Louvre from some distance illuminated by all the light sources placed around it

20170422_224742.jpg
Turning around 180 degrees from the picture above, you're met with this view of Carrousel Arc de Triomphe with a large Paris Ferris Wheel!

After that, I usually backtrack the same path to go home to my apartment. Hence why you'll see some differences in the brightness of the sky even around the same place, as I may have taken one picture on the way up and one on the way back. Anyhow, I feel very lucky to have such a beautiful scenery to enjoy whilst walking in the evenings. It has become a habit, one that I find very healthy, to end the day casually walking around and letting the mind do its own thing.

Hope you enjoyed the pictures!

Sort:  

Oh this is lovely! Hope to visit Paris one day for sure. Definitely can sense Christmas vibes from your photos and it seems so peaceful.

Share something from home too! I miss Norway and mountains. It is just so different. :)

I loved every step of the walk :) peaceful indeed! It's like calm is just sinking in over the city ^^

Yes I will take pictures from home too, you should come visit my home town in Norway once :)

I would love to :)

"Peacefull" is not really the word I would use to describe Paris though :p

probably not, but the pictures gave that feeling ;)

Paris is beautiful! I'm going to Paris-London on the summer of 2018, Looking forward to checking this amazing place out.
Amazing pictures as well ofc. Oh and btw, I'm a PSG fan so I have a special feeling for Paris hehe.

I sure love the city! As I say to many of my friends: Why pay for netflix when you can just go outside and watch the city? Hope you'll enjoy your time there!

I got to watch PSG here once already :D although I prefer English fottball.

Thanks for sharing your beautiful photos. Please share some of Norway at Christmas if you can.

You're welcome! Yes I sure will! Hope to get to see some snow :) although you never know when it's a coastal city that is quite rainy.

I always think of Norway as snowy. Bet it is beautiful. We usually have a lot of snow here, but have not seen any snow at all this year so far.

On a nice summer evening, go and watch the different types of dancing at the Quai Saint-Bernard. The atmosphere is amazing with 1000s of people and styles.

Did that this last summer :) was really nice! Perfect place to just arrive with some friends having bought some baguettes, olives and drinks ^^

Fantastic photos! Man, that's really cool. I hope we'll someday soon be able to share these experiences in VR to fully get the sites and sounds.

Happy holidays.

I think for now I would rather travel and visit the places rather than sitting in the same chair as always with the VR headset on :P But yes, we're certainly going in that direction :)

Merry christmas and a happy new year to you as well man!

Oh for sure, but since i'm California right now, it would be cool to "hang" with you in VR in Paris as well. :)

someday, we'll make that happen ;)

I just can get enough of old European architecture. Such attention to detail in all the stone carvings.

I totally agree! Much of the city is like a giant piece of art.

Wow, beautiful photos of Louvre. I was there a few years ago. Struggled for hours to find the exit.

Thanks!
haha, well at least you made it! Or are you still steeming from inside the Louvre? :D

Haha, that would have made for quite an introduce yourself post;)

This post reminded me of my friend who also lives in Paris. lucky of you.
The photos are great. time to think about visiting.
Consider visiting Chicago if you haven't been here, it is also a very nice city. I am sure that you would take a lot of interesting photos here

Do you ever get to work with that sightseeing? Between you in the chat and that route I wonder if you actually do work lol

It was so beautiful
If you have time I visit my blog
I also have a lot of good photos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69069.39
ETH 3914.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64