You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I am a Catholic Christian

in #christianity7 years ago

Steemit is a weird place for Christians. Most of the outspoken Christians who are early adopters of steemit seem to be anarchist minded, which is an odd contradiction.

The Anglican liturgy is beautiful, and I love the music. An Anglican friend of mine pointed me to some Advent and Christmas music (maybe it's vespers?) on Youtube that is glorious. I love boys' choirs. :-)

I think we'd tend to have a lot of agreement on aesthetics and beauty; I dislike conservative/progressive labels because they are too limiting and often meaningless, but I would call myself orthodox and in union with Rome and the teachings of the Catechism of the Catholic Church.

Always happy to talk about Church stuff here and again, welcome to steem and looking forward to reading your posts.

Sort:  

Yes, I can find the labels a bit difficult too; if nothing else, they tend to mean different things on different sides of the pond!

The question, of course, is not whether other Christians on Steemit are "doing it wrong" in some way or other (whether that's anarchism or Biblical literacy or just about anything), but what it means to be salt and light in this space. And that's something it will take time to work out in anything other than the most general principles.

You might enjoy this piece of mine:

Great points, all. Will listen in a bit, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60410.66
ETH 2598.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62