Why I am a Catholic ChristiansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #christianity7 years ago

It's a question I feel like I haven't answered well enough in real life, but since I often find my thoughts clearer when written down, I thought I'd take a minute to write why I am a Catholic, and what that means in my daily life.

I'm a Catholic because if God exists and wants us to know Him, he'd have made it simple to do so. I avoid saying easy, because it's not always easy, but it is simple. Straightforward. If I didn't know whether God existed, and was investigating without any biases in the way, I'd probably want to find a religion that was well known, global. Universal. (the word Catholic actually means universal...it's not a brand like Coke) There are a handful of religions that fit that descriptor: Judaism, Islam, Christianity, Buddhism (sometimes described as not a religion, I know).

Judaism is wildly different since the Roman Empire scattered them and destroyed the Second Temple. There's an interesting coincidence between the ending of bloody animal sacrifices and the beginning of Christianity, which describes Jesus as the "Lamb of God". If God wanted to set the stage for an "ultimate and final" sacrifice that would suffice for the entire broken human race, it would look very similar to the way the Jewish people brought unblemished animals as vessels for their sins.

Islam was founded by a warrior. If God was very powerful, and wanted to show the world His power through a prophet, he would certainly have chosen somebody like Mohammed. Interestingly, the prophets in the historical tradition of the Jewish people were not warlords. Also interestingly, the further one got from Rome, the more heterogeneous the beliefs of Christians got. Some of the teachings of Mohammed on the Virgin Mary, and the Trinity, show that he based his reactions against Christianity on beliefs that the Church (and the Scriptures) didn't support. It's hard to believe a prophet who spoke as the penultimate prophet of God could be so wrong about such basic things. His marrying a 9 year old doesn't help either...

Christianity built western civilization. While it's not really taught in the American public school system, or most 100 level history classes at universities, scholars are pretty clear on this. Christians are responsible for hospitals, universities, the retaining of ancient knowledge from the Greeks and Romans, law, terraforming Europe, and so much more.

There are blemishes, too. Christ may be perfect, but His followers sure aren't. There's a habit, I think, for too much focus on that, to the detriment of an appreciation for the real benefits we have gotten from this tradition.

I'm a Catholic because it makes sense for God to have a teaching Church to guide people. It is more logical to have a final authority in difficult questions, rather than a book with millions of interpretations. The United States does not exist simply because of the Constitution, but also because people have a government that ensures it is followed. We argue about the meaning of articles written 200 years ago enough; it doesn't take much of a leap to realize that books written 2000-3000 years ago may be more complicated than most of us can understand without a very good teacher, and because people argue a lot, it makes sense for one teacher to be the final authority on such matters.

I'm a Catholic because of the beauty of the Church and her art.
david.jpg
Perhaps the greatest sculpture ever

sistene.jpg
This, too, by the same artist

Churches are beautiful.
notredame.jpg
Notre Dame in France. Beats any banks I've seen

The musical traditions of Western Civilization, from simple Gregorian Chant, to Bach's Masses , are incredible.

I'm a Catholic because it doesn't require me to disregard science. The leader of our Church is a trained chemist, and there is an embarrassment of riches when it comes to the intellectual and scientific tradition of our forefathers. Just start here

I'm a Catholic because regular Confession is free of charge and it requires me to look at myself honestly, without which I'd justify far too many of my proclivities. It is a font of mercy straight from God that gives me the strength to change myself for the better and the humility to know how fragile we all are. We have high standards, and lots of mercy.

I'm a Catholic because it requires me to love my fellow human beings without exception, even our enemies.

These are my beliefs; thank you for reading. I'm open to hearing yours in the comments-will you share what you believe?

Sort:  

Hello!

I'm an Anglican myself, but pretty sympathetic to the universality of Catholicism. But my reasons for becoming Anglican (after seriously exploring conversion to Orthodox Judaism in my 20s) are perhaps more personal and less doctrinal: the people who were most influential and supportive in my re-exploration of Christianity, and the people who made church feel like a home for me, are mostly members of the Church of England. Liturgically I'm on the "high" side of Anglicanism, with a strong affinity for sacramental worship (while recognising that worship is not about my preferences); theologically I tend toward a liberal/progressive view based on:

  1. the idea of all humans being made in the image of God (even though we mess that up) and
  2. the Great Commandment (I figure if people asked Jesus which commandment was greatest and He said "Love God, and love your neighbour as yourself" then that's a pretty important thing to bring to the way we interpret the rest of Scripture; and I recognize that a lot of the disagreements I have with some (more conservative?) Christians revolve around different ideas of what that love looks like in practice.)

I'm relatively new to Steemit and not sure about the etiquette of replying to older posts, but it's nice to "meet" another Christian here who isn't attached to a strict literalist interpretation of one translation of Scripture, for example, so I thought I'd say hello anyway.

Hello! I just listened to a wonderful lecture by Peter Kreeft to a group of Anglicans and Episcopalians about Divine Love (Dr Kreeft is Catholic). It is outstanding and if you can find his podcast, it won't disappoint.
The Anglican liturgy and music is beautiful. Welcome to steemit and I will return to write more later.

Thanks, I'll have a look for Dr Kreeft's podcast.

Steemit is a weird place for Christians. Most of the outspoken Christians who are early adopters of steemit seem to be anarchist minded, which is an odd contradiction.

The Anglican liturgy is beautiful, and I love the music. An Anglican friend of mine pointed me to some Advent and Christmas music (maybe it's vespers?) on Youtube that is glorious. I love boys' choirs. :-)

I think we'd tend to have a lot of agreement on aesthetics and beauty; I dislike conservative/progressive labels because they are too limiting and often meaningless, but I would call myself orthodox and in union with Rome and the teachings of the Catechism of the Catholic Church.

Always happy to talk about Church stuff here and again, welcome to steem and looking forward to reading your posts.

Yes, I can find the labels a bit difficult too; if nothing else, they tend to mean different things on different sides of the pond!

The question, of course, is not whether other Christians on Steemit are "doing it wrong" in some way or other (whether that's anarchism or Biblical literacy or just about anything), but what it means to be salt and light in this space. And that's something it will take time to work out in anything other than the most general principles.

You might enjoy this piece of mine:

Great points, all. Will listen in a bit, thanks!

Wow this is a powerful post. Do I have your permission to link to it in facebook?

Thank you. Of course you can!

Catholics aren't Christians. We're not saved by infant baptism and obedience to church rules. We're saved by faith alone in Christ alone guided by the Bible alone.

The Catholic Church is hopelessly corrupt. The pope has no authority whatsoever to determine biblical truth or to decide who goes to Heaven and who goes to Hell.

We shouldn't worship Mary or pray to her or pray to statues. You shouldn't babble like pagans who say the same things over and over again. The Bible talks about this. Unfortunately, 99% of Catholics are biblically illiterate. They would have to be or they wouldn't remain Catholics.

Thanks for responding with some of your concerns, which come from a place of concern and love.

Can I clarify a few things?

  1. I wholeheartedly agree we should worship nobody but God alone-the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. Mary is not worshipped by Catholics. Nowhere in Church teaching nor the Bible is that taught or believed.

  2. The Scriptures are a wonderful source of God's teachings. Where in the Bible does it say Faith alone? James 2:14-26 says that Faith without works is dead.

I look forward to continued dialogue.

Really interesting story man! Thanks for sharing it! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62