Sort:  

great post
jesus is definitely 100 percent not responsible for what christianity has turned into keep up the great posts
have a great evening
sorry for the spam you might receive i have bernies foul mouthed bots following me around cheers

Hi, I agree with you that we cannot take forgiveness for granted and "sin boldly". However, I believe that Jesus is consubstantial to the Father. The Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit are 1 God in 3 persons. I don't think which person of the Trinity we focus on is critical, as they are one. Consider this passage.
8 Philip saith unto him, Lord, show us the Father, and it sufficeth us.

9 Jesus saith unto him, Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then, Show us the Father?

10 Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the works.

11 Believe me that I am in the Father, and the Father in me: or else believe me for the very works' sake.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, I appreciate your weighing in.

When I read the verses you shared, I still read Jesus saying that everything validating what He is Saying/Doing is worthy because it comes from the Father, not Himself. I have never read one thing from Jesus that does not give all of the glory to the Father. Even the famous John 3:16, God (the Father) gave His only begotten Son.

Thanks for explaining that I was never fought it this way.

Posted using Partiko Android

All of the churches I have attended have focused on Jesus and not the Father, so I am of the opinion most churches are doing this. So it is no surprise to me that you were never taught to see it this way. Thanks for reading and I invite you to study more closely on your own what the bible says, as Jesus was very clear on who He is and His purpose here. One that no church can divert us from if we study it ourselves. I believe this was why the Catholic church discouraged its flock from reading the bible, and unfortunately many Christians only exposure is at church where the minister has crafted a message using hand picked verses that mostly focus on Jesus and not the Father.

Yes I agree with all that. I actually stopped going to church some years ago. As I came to the understanding they are not teaching people properly. I do better now doing my own study and talking with others that have been through the same process.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't think I've ever seen anyone frame things quite in this fashion, @practicalthought, so I've kind of been digesting this. What's strange about it is, I'm agreeing with everything in principle—Jesus didn't come to put all the attention on himself (we do it since everything flows through him after Gethsemane and the resurrection). We can get caught up in that, when yes, the Father is there, and yes, He ultimately is the one above all.

I see the trinity, or as I've been taught to refer to it, the Godhead, as three separate beings that are one in purpose, with the Son and the Holy Ghost ever doing the will of the Father. So, the idea that there's an authority order to things is not a new concept for me.

For what it's worth, I think where I start splitting hairs (and that's pretty much what it is :) has to do with what the Father wants us to do. Does He want us to think of Him before Christ, or Him rather than Christ, or does He want us to follow in the footsteps of His Only Begotten Son. In other words, is He okay with our focus being on Christ as far as who we're following and trying to be like?

I think the answer is yes. I say that though, as someone who prays directly to the Father in Jesus's name, and as one who repents the same way. My dealings are with the Father, but since Jesus is Savior and Advocate, I go through him.

I also say that as one who doesn't think just because Christ paid the price of my sins that I'm good and then go and do whatever. That's not how I was taught how things work. If anything, I need to do more, not because works trump grace, but because works and grace work hand in hand. I'm not sure how else to show my love and my willingness to obey if I don't actually put deeds or actions behind my words.

So, there you go, for what it's ultimately worth.

Kudos for taking this kind of topic on. :)

Thanks for the thoughtful reply.

Does He want us to think of Him before Christ

I see the answer of this to be yes. I look at what Jesus says in the Gospels, and He was adamant that the attention was to be on the Father. It was the books written by others (mostly from the self proclaimed 13th apostle Paul) where you see the shift from Father to Son. I will go with what Jesus said over what Paul said, especially given Paul was a self confessed liar not only in word but deed.

If anything, I need to do more

Amen. There isn't a day that passes by I don't think of all the things I could have done differently, the responses I have to things that remind me of just how petty and sinful I am. I agree that Grace is manifest in many ways through action, and it is an area I am sure we all could use help from God.

I would upvote @keirani-gaming if I were you...lol
thanks for the post and thanks for the comments..

I would upvote @keirani-gaming if I were you...lol

And yet despite the boldness of your statement it doesn't escape my notice you chose not to upvote the comments you mention yourself. I would suggest you focus more on your own voting habits and not selectively worry about others voting habits. I manually curate every vote I cast, refusing to delegate to profit bots. There is a reason for every vote I cast or do not cast. While I will not justify the idiosyncrasies behind my choices, I will have a gesture with you and say this.

I mostly post based on convictions that pull at me. I'm not prone to posting just to post as many do here. This post is one that sheds a light on a concern of mine that is pervasive within the Christian community. One that the poster you seem to feel I (and not you) should upvote displays in their reply. I would be remiss in my convictions if I showed support for comments displaying the exact attitude I warn of. This in no way is a reflection of any ill will towards the person in question, and it is very possible that in the future our paths will cross where there are many intersections of mutual interest that would garner the support of my upvote.

You must understand that this site offers more than upvotes/downvotes, one being the ability to share messages one deems important with whatever audience is fated to read them. Using this post as an example, I posted it knowing full well it would not be receiving upvotes from some who regularly support my posts, and could in fact cause a change in their desire to support my future endeavors. My convictions are not ones that will fit many, and that is either my burden or theirs. In this case, it was not yours as evidenced by your lack of support for their message.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Loading...

Jesus came to preach the gospel and die on the cross. Jesus didn't come here to lead. Jesus IS God. People are right to worship him. When people on earth worshiped him he didn't discourage them.

Paul talked about preaching nothing but Christ crucified.

The cults always seek to diminish Jesus, his identity, and his work. Which is what I think you are doing.

I will believe what Jesus said again and again in the bible over what you or corrupt church leaders say. Jesus was very clear the goal was the Father, and it is shocking to me this isn't clear to everyone as often as He said it.

Jesus didn't come here to lead

John 14:6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78