Are Atheists less moral than Theists ?

in #christianity7 years ago

Different strokes for different folks... In my opinion it doesn't matter if you are a Theist or an Atheist , the world are full of bad people .

Different types of morals

If I'm a religious person , it does not necessarily mean I have more moral values than the non-believer . People make this assumption , " Oh , you are an Atheist , so you have no moral values " . I have actually heard that while debating about this topic . I'm a believer in God , but I also have friends who doesn't believe in God and some of them have better morals than me !

It's crazy how some people view this topic. Yes , you get religious values and they are important when you are a believer . When we look at morals , what is morals ? Honesty , Truthful , Self-Respect , Integrity , Kindness and the list goes on . Why can't Atheists have those morals ? People who are Theists have more of an incentive to maintain their religious values and morals .

This is a very touchy subject and I'm looking forward to the debate about this topic . I want to hear what you guys think about this !

@jacoknoetze

Image Credits - 1 , 2

Sort:  

I agree if you needed a bible or quraan to tell you that killing is wrong it's not religion you were lacking. I saw a picture of a homeless man with a sign saying 'which religion cares most about the homeless' in front he had a bowl for each religion & one for atheist & agnostic. The latter 2 bowls had notes in as well as coins. The Muslim & christian bowls were the emptiest the Buddhist and Sikh bowls were ok considering I believe the picture was taken in America, I would have expected the christian bowl to be the fullest as Jesus had to be born in a manger because there was no room at the inn I found it quite ironic. Jesus would have been a middle eastern man yet some Christians are not very charitable at all towards middle eastern refugees. Made me think.

To believe in a God or higher being, dose not mean you are a higher standard of human being. Being a Christian, bought up in an Atheist home environment, I have seen the good AND bad of both sides and I see both points of view equally.

Once I chose to follow my belief, did I become better morally and ethically than my parents and family. HELL no! Most of my ethics and morals came from my parents!

Dose any Religion's bible reveal laws and commandments that make us more superior to non-believers? NO! In fact our holy texts hold us (Christians, Jewish, Islamic, Buddhist, Taoist etc) MORE accountable for the wrongs that WE do to others, to anyone and everyone, no matter if they are a fellow believer or not.

Are Atheist savages because they do not believe in what we believe? Again NO! In fact in the Bible Jesus knocks down the established religion (Judaism) a peg or two by saying that whores, prostitutes, Tax collectors (Guys with baseball bats and tats, not the ones with ties and cappuccinos) and Publicans had an 80% better chance of getting to heaven than the Priests!

To me, somewhere between the Atheist and Theist view, is the true ground/path we both should walk.

I couldn't agree more with you. Sometimes people do bad stuff but because they are Atheists , you get that label that all Atheists are bad people and that's not true . If we take a look at Muslims , some are terrorists but now if you see a Muslim person you think , okay , Muslim = bomb = terrorist . The world is messed up and people from all different kinds of backgrounds are going to do stupid stuff , but that does not mean we should label them all as one type . It's all just propaganda in my opinion . We teach our children to believe in God and Jesus and if you don't believe , where do you end up ? That's right in Hell Timmy ! Lol and we see this everywhere though . If you don't do this , that is going to happen to you and it's all really just bullshit .

Yea, Amen Brother!..... um...(cough).... you know what I mean. But yes you are right, a few idiots gets the whole group labelled. And yes most of the "Your going to HELL" stuff is propaganda, there is no Hell, yes it is a word in the bible but it is not a place with fire and brimstone, it is just a greek word that means 'Hole in the ground' aka The Grave, Bought The Farm, etc. And the word Sin is a Hebrew word for 'To Err' or better known as "To do stupid stuff with a high chance of killing your self" like sleeping with your best mates wife or strapping a bomb to yourself or proclaiming Barry Manalow is the greatest singer of all time. You get the picture.

Haha Yeah I feel you @hmt . Thank you for the comments and insightful opinion !

Thank you for Using #promo-steem tag, Promote steemit by inviting your friends and your family!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jacoknoetze to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Atheists are less likely to be moral for the simple reason that their standards for morality are different than mine because I'm a Christian. Few people today consider sex outside of marriage to be wrong or to consider homosexuality to be wrong.

Another factor that needs to be considered is that there are atheists who refuse to accept the existence of God because they would rather continue in their sin than believe in God.

Simply believing in God is meaningless. That won't change until you accept Christ as your savior. Then you have the Holy Spirit inside you to convict you of the sin in your life. It wasn't until after I was saved and the Holy Spirit began to work in my life that I began to realize what a sinner I was.

Yes , you have different moral values because you have religious values that Atheists don't have . But you cannot say they are less likely to be moral just because they do not believe in something you believe in . Once again that is propaganda right there. You cannot judge someone upon beliefs. Everyone's reality is different from each other. What's normal for me is weird for you. Thanks for the comment !

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 4.21% vote... I was summoned by @jacoknoetze! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59