Words to Live By - Love is Patient

in #christianity6 years ago

words to live by 5.jpg

Love is patient, love is kind



This is one of the most beloved bible verses of all time and, certainly, one of my favorites. It's something that I try to remind myself of regularly, especially when I'm feeling irritated or impatient with my daughter or my husband. Unfortunately, we live in a world that desperately needs more love and patience. If everybody would try to improve how loving and patient they are, the world would be such a better place for us all to live in. I think, too often, when others irritate us in some way, we feel justified in lowering our standards in terms of the way we respond to and treat others. It's something that I struggle with, especially while driving! How much more beautiful the world would be if we could just be more patient, loving, and kind with one another.

Sort:  

Those verses have been hijacked by those who consider them wedding verses. They're not. It's the way we should treat everyone, including those who mistreat us and consider us their enemy.

We can only do that under the power of the Holy Spirit. The more we mature emotionally and spiritually the closer we can get to it. Very few people who are 50 can get close to it. Even fewer at 25.

I have to remind myself when I drive not to react emotionally to the ways that some people drive. I was saved in 1980 when I was 21. The more I mature spiritually the more I realize how much further I have to go.

Same here! Although I have changed much from my younger days, I also realize the chasm that I have yet to cross. Have a wonderful day! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63624.94
ETH 3481.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54