You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FACE TO FACE WITH GOD

I agree entirely that Christ was in his pre-incarnate state throughout the old testament however I would give the view that the angels of the LORD were angels and that pre-incarnate Christ is the 'LORD' of the old testament, distinct entities. As I understand it three angels came to Abraham in Gen 18, and after they had left Gen 18:22 states 'Then the men turned away from there and went toward Sodom, while Abraham was still standing before the LORD.' As I read it I get the impression Christ is the LORD of the old testament and that the angels of the LORD are his host. I've always been fascinated with the passage with Jacob and just wondered if there's anything in the original Hebrew alluding to the fact that men back then were physically stronger than us?
I also love the book of revelation, Rev 21:23 'And the city has no need of the sun or of the moon to shine on it, for the glory of God has illumined it, and its lamp is the Lamb.' I can't wait 😊 God bless.

Sort:  

The LORD had said to Abram, “Go from your country, your people and your father’s household to the land I will show you. Genesis 12:1

Abram who later had his named changed to Abraham, had a unique relationship with the LORD. He was in a personal covenant with Yehovah. He served a meal to three "men" who were later identified as the two angels who destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah and the LORD. He knew the voice and face of the LORD.

The angel of the LORD went up from Gilgal to Bokim and said, “I brought you up out of Egypt and led you into the land I swore to give to your ancestors. I said, ‘I will never break my covenant with you, and you shall not make a covenant with the people of this land, but you shall break down their altars.’ Yet you have disobeyed me. Why have you done this? Judges 2:1-2

It was "I AM" who sent Moses to confront Pharaoh but according to Judges 2:1, it was the angel of the LORD who brought the sons of Israel up our of Egypt. He is no mere angel but the pre-incarnate Christ.

Old Testament theophanies that involved the manifestation of God in human form were appearances of the second person of the Trinity, and as such their purpose was not only to provide immediate revelation but also to prepare mankind for the incarnation of Christ. We see the Divine Logos (The Word was God) in Genesis 1 and 2 in the Creation of the world, in the Garden of Eden in Genesis 2 and 3, at the oaks of Mamre with Abraham and Sarah in Genesis 18, in the Burning Bush before Moses in Exodus 3, in the Cloud and Pillar of Fire before the children of Israel in Exodus 13, as the Rock which followed the Israelites in Romans 10, as the Finger of God giving the Law in Exodus 19 and 20, as the King of Glory in Isaiah 6, and as the Angel of the Lord throughout the Hebrew Scriptures, just looking at a few examples of Jesus Christ in the Old Testament!

Ahh yes, I see now... Judges 2:1-2 alone is evidence enough. Truly is amazing to think Abraham was able to spend an evening with Christ in his true form as well as two of his angels. Thankyou for taking the time to clear this up for me, I am thankful for this teaching. Peace be with you.

Dear @galacticvagabond,

You are very welcome.

Shalom and God bless, Steven Sherman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56478.46
ETH 2384.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34