You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Atheism? Very quick overview.

in #christianity7 years ago

Ah... A classic, thanks for that, I chuckled a bit. The funny part is that religion can play this game too. Not all religion is creationist, there are some that believe in a God that sets the big bang in motion.

You know, using God to fill in gaps of what we cannot figure out ourselves.

The complaint I have with religion is that it doesn't give any useful predictions. Meaning, even if it were true, I can't use the knowledge to create a solar panel... That's not to say religion doesn't have its place. Plenty of good can come from faith in something you believe in.

Sort:  

]]Not all religion is creationist]]

I know, but those religions are irrational.

[[using God to fill in gaps of what we cannot figure out ourselves.]]

That isn't particularly close to what I'm doing or saying. I'm saying you can't know anything without God. The God of the Bible is a necessary precondition for knowledge and intelligibility.

[[it doesn't give any useful predictions]]

How do you know the future will be like the past?

[[even if it were true, I can't use the knowledge to create a solar panel]]

God is necessary to have ANY knowledge.

[[Plenty of good can come from faith in something you believe in.]]

How do you know what good is?

but those religions are irrational

Please show me how you decide what's irrational about other religions. Let's see if we can apply the same formulae to yours too.

you can't know anything without God

How do you know this is true? What if they have a different god to yours? Do they still not know anything?

how do you know what good is?

'Good' is a subjective opinion based on perspective. It doesn't actually exist in real terms. In you bible, we're told it's not 'good' to kill people. How about when God kills? Is it ok then? We're told it's not 'good' to own people as slaves. According to your bible, it's ok. They even provide instructions on how to beat them up if they're disobeying you. Is that 'good'?

How do you know what's good?

Loading...

That isn't particularly close to what I'm doing or saying

Sorry the comment about filling the gaps was not about you, it was about the previous line of what you called irrational religion.

How do you know the future will be like the past?

I don't. But my main point here is that the science mindset is productive. Sure, maybe God is the reason for it, but I feel that's a separate layer of philosophy. Just my opinion though. I'm saying, if I'm a scientist, does it matter if God is the reason behind my brains and productivity?

How do you know what good is?

God is good.

Sorry the comment about filling the gaps was not about you

Oh, no sweat. :-)

maybe God is the reason for it

"Maybe", eh? What's your alternative?
How do you know your senses are reliable, that your brain accurately interprets sensory perception, and that the world outside of you actually exists?

does it matter if God is the reason behind my brains and productivity?

It matters a lot. For example:

  1. God demands glory from all His creations.
  2. It is objectively good to glorify God in all ways.
  3. We all need a way to know which actions to pursue. Josef Mengele was a scientist.

Are you saying you believe in God? If so, who is He?

I don't know what the alternative is (if not God), and I'm okay with that.

Which actions to pursue, the purpose of life. Yes, maybe you're right. I haven't explored it yet. So far I'm a lemming.

As for the last question, I'll put it just as vaguely: I don't not believe in God. So yeah, I don't know who He is.

IOW, you want to be fully woke, you need to follow the Lord of the universe, who isn't deceived by anyone and who knows the truth about everything, tells the truth to His people, and leads His people into proper priorities, values, and knowledge. You can trust Him, but other people you can't trust. Shouldn't trust yourself either - remember how many times you have failed yourself.

I appreciate the help but I will continue to bask in my sin, for the time being. There may be a wake up time but it will not be now.

Just remember that you make this choice with full knowledge that you love yourself more than Jesus, and that you have no rational excuse for your actions. God help you.

All due respect, but you shouldn't be OK with it. What you're saying is that you don't know the truth and don't care to know it.

I'm warning you that at this point you have no excuse, b/c your conscience is telling you to seek the truth but you're like "Nah, I'm OK." You're not OK. You like everyone are in sin and you need to be reconciled to God, as you are currently at enmity with Him.

Repent of your sin and turn to the Lord Jesus Christ. Don't sell yourself short. This life won't last forever.

I’m following your convo and the people you are having a debate with are my friends. That said, being Awake means to allow people to find their way, make no demands and not judge. It is not for us to judge only Him. There are also levels of vibration and your continued judgment keeps you stuck in 3D, this Is not a judgment but a fact. To say to someone to Awaken is 3D soul frequency. Just an observation from a person who has reached 5D and above. Keep it real and just let other’s soul paths go, no other soul is our responsibility. Help those that want help. When we make information appealing it’s amazing the conversations we attract. Stay positive and Do You. Blessings.

We must judge - Jesus commanded us to. I commend John 7 and 1 Corinthians 2 to your reading.
"Reach 5D" makes no sense. Please consider how your sin has separated you from your Creator. You need Jesus.

So, I am an ordained minister and very spiritual. It sounds obvious you have no idea what you are talking about or even come close to being awake or knowing what is going on. You cannot even recognize when someone is speaking the same language. Sad.

Thanks Eon.

Yes, the god of the gaps. Ever-receding as science creeps forward.

Lol no help building a solar panel. I think you're right about that. There's never any decent recipes in there either.

Religion having its place. I think religiosity is inbuilt somehow. We're all vulnerable to ideologies and set thought patterns. Hardwired to believe stuff. The problem I see with religion (or the main dogmas) is that it breeds a 'them and us' mindset. People have done wonderful things in the name of religion. But there are uncountable atrocities too. General personal belief seems to be pretty harmless though.

Thanks for your comment :)

Yes, the god of the gaps. Ever-receding as science creeps forward.

The reason this argument exists is b/c shallow religious people have made bad arguments over the course of time. It isn't actually a valid or relevant critique of the biblical position.

I don't really think so... People said god was responsible for this and that, then as we learned more about things, we realised it wasn't god, just gravity or some weather situation or something. God lives in the gaps in human knowledge.

I'm really interested in hearing a valid, relevant critique. Do you have any links I can read?

People said god was responsible for this and that, then as we learned more about things

That is not my argument. I know it's what a lot of people have said. It is not what I am saying; I urge you to deal with me and not with others at the moment. Interact with the arguments as presented.

I'm really interested in hearing a valid, relevant critique. Do you have any links I can read?

A valid relevant critique of the biblical position?
It doesn't exist, any more than there could exist one of the "2+2=4" position.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68244.61
ETH 2640.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69