If God is Good, Why is there So Much Pain in the World?

in #christianity7 years ago

"And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose."
- Paul the Apostle -

At times, life sucks.

We find ourselves filled with pain. We struggle. People we love hurt or betray us.

At times, life sucks.

At times, life sucks.
Photo courtesy of Adriano Gadini and http://pixabay.com

What's wrong with this picture?

Why does life hurt so bad? Why is there hunger and war and suffering?

If Jesus is Truth and Light, why doesn't he put an end to all of the pain?

Why is there pain in the world?

Why is there pain in the world?
Image courtesy of Dieter and http://pixabay.com

We are tempted to wonder about God.

If he really loves us, why is there so much pain in the world?

Why are we on an endless roller coaster, ups and downs. Wow, some of the lows are excruciatingly painful.

At times, others lacking faith throw the facts up in our face.

"Where is your God now? You say you believe in him. Why isn't he helping you?"

The Problem of Evil

The Problem of Evil
Photo courtesy of Español and http://pixabay.com

In philosophy, this is known as "The Problem of Evil."

If you want a more in-depth look at the philosophical / logical problem of evil, click the link above. However, my purpose in writing this today is to share with you my own, very personal, very individual reason for being at peace with this problem.

I personally suffer pain,

just as you do. I struggle, at times mightily. The worst experience of my life was watching a beloved grandson die.

As beautiful as the world and life can be, there are times when the pain is almost unbearable. I know I am not alone in this.

"For we know that the whole creation has been groaning together in the pains of childbirth until now. And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies."
- Romans 8:22-23

We suffer great pain.

We suffer great pain.
Image courtesy of John Hain and http://pixabay.com

But then I think of how God might have handled things.

I believe that Jesus created the universe. But he might have then just stayed out of it. He could have watched evil take its course, and done nothing.

However, that is not what he did.

God did not exempt himself from the evil in the universe.

Let that thought sink in for a moment.

Had God created the world, put us in it, allowed the entrance of pain and evil, and then remained aloof from it all, I might feel differently.

But that is not what he did.

God did not exempt himself from evil.

God did not exempt himself from evil.
Image courtesy of Alexandra Haynak and http://pixabay.com

God has allowed himself to experience pain.

I don't pretend to fully understand the idea that God exists as three persons, unified in one. But I do understand family relationships. I know from experience the pain of seeing a beloved child suffer. God the Father did not remove himself from that pain.

I know from experience the pain of being abandoned. Jesus did not shun that pain.

Physical pain has been at least a small part of my human experience. I know that Jesus willingly suffered far more physical pain that I have ever had to face. He was executed by means of excruciating torture on a Roman cross.

He could have escaped that torture.

History tells us that he did not.

God subjected himself to unimaginable suffering.

God subjected himself to unimaginable suffering.
Image courtesy of Raheel Shakeel and http://pixabay.com

If God had avoided all pain himself, I might still wonder.

But I find and take great comfort in knowing that God subjected himself and his beloved son to unimaginable pain and suffering, for my sake and yours. I console myself with this logical conclusion:

Had there been a better path to Glory, surely the all-wise Creator, Jesus/God would have trod that path.

Jesus chose the painful road to Calvary.

This incredible fact reassures me that there must be great purpose and good even in the relatively small amount of pain I am called on to suffer.

And so, I wait — impatiently at times, but I wait — for his return. He will ultimately set everything right.


~FIN~


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
>>CLICK HERE!<<


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr
Sort:  

Thank you for posting @creatr.

A query for the ages.

If life here on earth was pain and suffering free.....would man ever look up?

The answer to the query of pain and suffering can be found in the book of Genesis......Adam made the decision to reject God's plan .....thereby making the decision for the entire human race. He was ruler of the world and ceeded the throne to Satan...who is to this day ruler of the world. When evil rules...there is suffering to be had.

There is a conflict...that conflict is between good and evil. Christ won the victory on the cross although Satan did all he and his demons could do to prevent this victory.

The issue in life for every person is......What think ye of Christ?.....Do you accept or reject Him?

Some are brought to this query through pain and suffering.

Man's extremity is God's opportunity. They will perhaps listen to the gospel message for the first time.

For you see God loved the world (mankind) so much that He gave His uniquely born Son (Christ Jesus) that anyone who believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life......John 3.16.

Christ Jesus who is the God man...came to endure the suffering of the crosss as a substitute for us. As God He cannot have anything to do with sin but as man He could bear the sins of the world, pay the debt of our sin and redeem mankind from the rulership of Satan......and to anyone who believes in Him is given the non-meritorious gift of eternal life.

Thank you for opportunity to think on these things.

Wishing you and yours all the best. Cheers.

Thank you, dear @bleujay, for your visit, for reading my presentation, and for your comprehensive commentary. :D

I couldn't agree more with all you've said. As Moses has related the LORD's words to us,

"Then to Adam He said, “Because you have heeded the voice of your wife, and have eaten from the tree of which I commanded you, saying, ‘You shall not eat of it’:
 
 “Cursed is the ground for your sake;
 In toil you shall eat of it
 All the days of your life."

- Genesis 3:17

I've always understood that God pronounced the curse for our ultimate good. As you've stated,

"If life here on earth was pain and suffering free.....would man ever look up?"

And so, yes indeed, I agree that the curse, pain and suffering, and all evil that impinges upon us, will ultimately be turned to our greatest good by our Great God and Savior, Jesus.

"And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose."
- Romans 8:28
"For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us."
- Romans 8:18

Thank you again for your visit! :D

Upvoted and followed, nice post! Just lost my cousin to cancer so I'm with you on the suffering of pain. Blessings!

I'm very sorry for your loss.

Thank you for visiting and commenting.

This world is a testing ground.

Because God wants to test you by giving pain, whether you still believe in him if you are going through pain and agony. If you pass this test, you will rewarded with bounties in this life and also hereafter.

Thanks for commenting.

an old rabbinical proverb - God put the seeds of wisdom on the outside of our hearts, so when our hearts break, those seeds of truth fall in

Thanks, John. I had never before heard that one. :D

I've said it so much over the years, I thought I wrote it - that it was one of my quotes. My sister-in-law wanted to use it in her book but I couldn't be sure it was mine. So, I used it in a story anyway.

I always hoped one of my quotes would be used at the beginning of Criminal Minds - well, one day it happened. Deb almost fainted. "C'mon, John - watch this - they used your quote!"

Well, I couldn't believe it, until they gave the source - an old rabbinical proverb - they scoped out the source I couldn't find... ha ha. Serves me right! Something good came out of that in the end :)

That's a very interesting story! It's funny how some things become so deeply embedded in our thinking that we come to think of them as our own... :D

And thus we see that except the Lord doth chasten his people with many afflictions, yea, except he doth visit them with death and with terror, and with famine and with all manner of pestilence, they will not remember him. ~Book of Mormon; Helaman 12;3. Amazing chapter 12 changed my life!

But would that not make god cruel? Why worship something that is cruel tonso many when they do not need to be cruel?

After all, God did say he was a jealous God...Did you read the following verse? And I don't think God would send us here to have this experience to not learn and grow and to not be challenged. That would be a waste in my opinion.

Hi, Danny.

I appreciate your visit and your comment. Thank you for sharing your perspective.

Great post, important questions no doubt!

I don't have input from a theological perspective, however from a pure secular point of view, suffering seems to be necessary for and intrinsic to life. It makes life more advanced, more complex. As Nietzsche famously said, "What doesn't kill us, makes us stronger.". Decadence often breeds decay, etc.

Cheers!

Thank you for visiting and for your thoughtful comment.

Yes, adversity does seem to have the effect of strengthening us. It is still hard to take at times. :O

Cause evil also exist and people preferr it more cause it's quicker, cheaper, easier and hort term.

Good observation. The bible agrees with you:

"And this is the judgment: the light has come into the world, and people loved the darkness rather than the light because their works were evil."
- John 3:19

You did a great job explaining this! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46