The 4Gs - truths to set you free

in #christian-trail4 years ago (edited)

A while back, I visited a friend of mine that was part of the missional communities movement that were pioneered by Soma Communities in the US. Whilst at their church, I learnt something very powerful that I have drawn on frequently 'til this day. The concept is called the 4Gs first termed by Tim Chester in his book, You Can Change.

What are the 4Gs?

The 4Gs are 4 truths about God that begin with the letter 'G'. Chester asserts that at the core of all our sinful behavior and negative emotions is a failure to believe and embrace these 4 truths at a functional level. Over the next few days, I want to look at each of these 4Gs in more detail. As these truths have helped me, so I want to share with you and hope it will assist you in your walk with God.

To start us off, today I'll list the 4Gs below. So what are the 4Gs?

  1. God is great – so we don’t have to be in control

  2. God is glorious – so we don’t have to fear others

  3. God is good – so we don’t have to look elsewhere

  4. God is gracious – so we don’t have to prove ourselves
    Source

Have a think about the sins and negative emotions you're struggling with right now. Which of these truths do you think you are failing to believe and accept?

Let me know what you think in the comments below. Would love to hear from you.

Until next time.

Blessings
Jimmy


IMG_1769.PNG

Sort:  

@nextgen622, In my opinion many try to ignore the Guilt Aspect and by that i mean at the end of the day our true destination can be altered by the Guilts which we hold all the time without addressing them. Stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @nextgen622! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Awesome TRUTH.

I cannot single out any of the 4 Gs here to comment. All make bible sense.

Since God is great and there is no one greater than HE. I get to let him and trust him to be incharge of my life.

God's glory is fearsome and magnificent and since no one can battle with the Lord, I fear no foe.

In a world of hash economic hardship, our God is a good shepherd no need to look elsewhere.

I dont need to prove anything to any man. God's grace found me and the life I live now is gracelife not mine. God's grace covers me and in this I glory. Hallelujah.

Thank you brother Jimmy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92