Have We Forgotten Him?

in #christian-trail4 years ago (edited)

worship.jpeg

Psalms 50:22-23 (KJV)
Now consider this, ye that forget God, lest I tear you in pieces, and there be none to deliver.
Whoso offereth praise glorifieth me: and to him that ordereth his conversation aright will I shew the salvation of God.

I am very concerned that, in this time of crisis in the Christian world, we may be the very ones who forget God. Mankind in general never knew God. They go about their way, having the many gods of their own making: those things that matter to them, those things they sacrifice their time talents and treasures to.

But what about the sheep of God’s pasture? What happens when we, who know the Living God, forget Him? Could that not happen in this time of crisis? Is it possible that, at a time when we are not able to attend church as normal, that we have made church attendance our true God? I am convinced that it is not possible to rightly worship God without church. I am equally convinced that it is possible to be dedicated to church and not worship God.

Have we turned our pleas in this crisis in the wrong direction? Some I hear are pleading the Constitution. Some are appealing to the President or to the Attorney General. Some are pleading with our governor to be sensible. Some have pleaded for gatherings for demonstration and solidarity. Some are pleading with the pastors to ignore the orders for shelter.

I do not want to say any of these have completely neglected God. I merely wish to ask that we consider whether we have forgotten Him.

To my readers:
First of all, thank you! It is a great joy to me to know you read the thoughts and lessons God has given me in His word.
Secondly, I would love to hear from you. Please feel free to leave comments.

For this and more than 4900 earlier Daily Visits with God visit https://mckenzie-visit-with-god.blogspot.com. There you will find daily visits going back to 2006.

If this blog has blessed you, please subscribe to my feed and share it with others.

Donate to Bible Baptist Church every time you make an Amazon purchase through this link, https://smile.amazon.com/ch/91-1265824

For more resources from Pastor Marvin McKenzie visit http://puyallupbaptistchurch.com.
My books are available at:
My author spotlight at Lulu.com:
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/marvinmckenzie
My author Page for Kindle/Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/author/marvinmckenzie

Psalms 50:22-23 (KJV) Have We Forgotten Him?

Photos from pexels.com
Marvin Feb 5 2019 HBBC cropped.jpg

Sort:  

Hey! This is for sure a great topic and very provocative. To answer your title.... I believe He has been long forgotten before this. I think there is a strength that comes through trials like these, and the ability to ask, seek, and knock while being on your own. For so long we have gone to a brick and mortar and committed our lives to a habit or a tradition without truly ever seeing God.

In times like these, those who call on the name of the Lord are not lost. Those that pretend are gone to the wolves. It makes me think of Matthew

22 Many will say to Me in that day, ‘Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in Your name, cast out demons in Your name, and done many wonders in Your name?’ 23 And then I will declare to them, ‘I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness!’

When He said I never knew you, He wasn't speaking to those that are outside of the body...he was talking to the ones that think and act like they are, but never actually are. I think in times like these it is a real gut check. It is now more than ever that we need to cry out to God...on our own...in our "closet" and in secret...really connecting with the Father.... that is how I believe the body will actually get stronger. It is when there is not stage to perform on or in front of others. Be well.

I agree. :-)

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Without a doubt

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57932.25
ETH 2469.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37