My 84 Year Old Mother Talking about Important Things to Pray About.

in #christian-trail7 years ago (edited)

divider-1024.png

As some of you know, I had the privilege of spending last week with my 84-year-old-mother who flew out to visit with me here in Florida. This is likely our last visit here in FL as her health is making it difficult to travel.

The night before she and my sister-in-law flew back home, we read the Bible together and prayed. While we were praying I asked if anyone wanted to add anything, and my mom said, "pray for the homeless people." So we prayed for all of the homeless people. Right when I was ready to say "Amen," She said, "pray for all of the people who are hungry." So we prayed that God would make a way so that nobody would be hungry. Right when I was about to say Amen, she said, "Pray for people who are suffering in other countries." So we prayed for people who are suffering persecution, hunger, and harsh living conditions.

As she continued to make prayer requests, I realized that she took our prayers outside of our own personal concerns and her prayers reached out to people that she didn't even know, but she knew that they needed prayer, and she knew that we should pray for everyone who is suffering in the world. She reminded me that we need to pray for the nation, and the hungry, and for the lost. God loves them all, and just because we can't see them, or they don't affect our lives we need to pray heartfelt prayers for them.

I wished that I had my video camera rolling as we prayed. But I got it out as soon as we finished as I was just amazed at what she had just shown me by her prayer requests. I heard Jesus in all of it.

None of her requests were for herself, but they were all for others.

I wanted to post this sooner, but something went wrong with my video camera and the video was lost. I had no idea that my husband was recording it as well, so thanks to him for focusing on my mom and getting most of what we talked about.
Thank you, Brian.

divider-1024.png

My mother was diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease several years ago, and we pray regularly that God will keep her in a sound mind. I believe He's doing just that.

This is a short video, but worth the watch.

Sort:  

This post has received a 100% upvote from @melowd. Thank You for sharing @livingwaters. For more information about the service, click here!

You did well, this is an encouragement for everyone here. May you find also my first two posts here about offgrid lighting:

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@lightingmacsteem/lighting-for-everyone-the-steemit-way
https://steemit.com/offgrid/@lightingmacsteem/7mcde8-lighting-for-everyone-the-steemit-way

God bless.

You are so privilidge to have such a wonderful mother who cares more about others than herself. God bless.

Thank you bigbear! God bless you too.

Wonderful post. You are blessed to still have her. I am sure she is a very good intersessor and how wonderful is that we can perform this wonderful service to the Lord even in old age.

Your mother is a caring and wise person. I like the way she remembers others in her prayers. We always take for granted the fact that we have food to eat and a roof over our heads. There is a lot of suffering in this world including war,unemployment, homelessness,abuse,disease;the list is endless. Your mom is right to remember this when she prays,a very good example we should all follow. God bless her and all your family immensely. Thank you for sharing :)

It's pretty obvious the Holy Spirit is allowing it's wisdom to be expressed through your tender Grandmother. Great Job Sis!
#ConsciousMedia
#FateNews
#DaNoVa
#FMM

It is a good practice to pray for others, rather than just our own concerns. I forget to do that many times. Thanks for reminding me.

Your mother is such a wonderful lady, thank you for sharing her with us livingwaters. I miss my own mother, so I've especially enjoyed these videos and stories about your mother and family. Your mum has the 'mind of Christ'.

What a wonderful blessing to have a mom like this - I am sure God is keeping her in His hand every day

Thank you anneke! She is an amazing and wonderful woman. You have an awesome mom and dad too!

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Aug 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $14.09 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55