You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When you think life is “hard” on you, maybe there’s a reason.

in #christian-trail7 years ago

Learning so much just reading this comment alone. I am still working towards minimalism n decluterring. The hardest thing about parting with stuff is because of the memories attached to them. But i do not buy things for the purpose of getting a free gift, if i get one and i know i am
Not using it, rather decline the gift. The can save if for the next person who really wants it

Sort:  

If you fear of discarding material items because of memories attached to it, then take my basic concepts about photos.
I am a photographer and I take a lot of photos. But the total photos I have over the past 10 years is less than selfies taking by a younger girl in 1 year.
Fast forward to when we are 80 years old and I catch up with old friends and family and we reminisce about a particular event or moment and I say "hey~! I have that photo". Even if you are super organised like me, if you have a few hundred thousand photos, it will take me maybe more than half an hour to search the said photo. And by that time, my friends will have lost interest or the atmosphere of excitement is already gone. Also, as a photographer, I know that less is definitely more because say for the gathering we attended last Sat, I have only 28 photos. If I were to take photos the first minute to the very end. I may have 50 photos. Participants would be much interested to go over all those 50 photos. Imagine I have 300 photos for the 4 hour event, I guarantee you that less than 5% will scroll through all 300 photos, most will stop by around 100 photos... Then you multiple that by 300 events and imagine how many photos I have and me and others will only go over 5% of the photos if I were to have maybe 20 thousand photos from those 300 events.
Now let's get back to memories attached materials, yes, there will be a lot of stuff that means a lot, but if you have so much, by the time you are 80, you won't remember the story behind a whole room full of memorable items. Personally, I will keep some especially from a old friend or close family or relatives. All others, pain is the discard, after that, there is less than 1% chance of regret.

Free gifts that are junk are not only a waste of space and useless to me, but it very much harm the environment we live in. Also, the more junk we have, the harder it is to look for the more important items. Hence it is very easy for me to say no to junk items.

Yes i agree with you on the minimal amount of photos. I don’t take good ones but if i have to i try to remind myself those days we only have 36 shots in a row of film, so make each shot count.

Ah taking photos of the stuff is a good idea. Especially kids crafts from school. Just too much to keep.

As a photographer, I can tell you that ALL photographers do not take good photos. We just choose a few of the very best, then crop and do some minor editing and our photo album will look marvellous.

Idea is not to take less, but to take at the right angle and right moment.. Practice makes perfection. Usually, I only need to take a few hundred photos and choose the very best 200 or less for a full day event.

As for your children's crafts, there are a few you can keep, just be selective..
I have seen a clip of a mother making a quilt out of small pieces of their kid's clothing.. and it is an amazing idea

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63122.96
ETH 2686.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57