What We Pray For

in #christian-trail6 years ago (edited)


Source

There are days when I wonder why I can't have the things I ask for like good health, a nice job, vacations, money and so much more. Does God hear my prayers? I feel like I am being ignored and it makes me feel resentful. Yes I am angry at being bypassed specially when others seem to have it all. I look at their nice cars and homes, their luxurious lifestyle and the wonderful vacation they're enjoying. Poor little me, stuck with a humdrum existence, doing the best of sometimes dire circumstances.


Source

I do not like feeling sorry for myself. I certainly don't want to wallow in self pity but then there are days like these. They just come on you and it's hard to get out of it and because I know I can't continue like this I look for something to lift my spirits up. I open my bible more often and also read the reflections of saints some of which are posted on my facebook and say my prayers earlier in the morning when its all quiet in the house. As I let all this things sink in my brain and heart I begin to feel less sad and restless although I still can't fully understand why things are the way they are.


Source
Right now it is enough that I understand that I am not in control but God is, since I really don't know what is good for me nor do I know what to ask for that will be beneficial to me I should let go and let God have His way. I suppose that is when they say His will be done. I can't say I understand a whole lot but I am definitely experiencing being at peace with myself and God because I realize that He loves me and will only give me what is good for my soul and salvation. God doesn't give everything we ask for because its not for our good to get everything we pray for specially material things. We will receive His gifts that nourish and strengthen the soul and all the graces we need instead and that is all that matters.

"I will give you the treasures of darkness, and hidden wealth of secret places, So that you may know that it is I, The Lord, the God of Israel, who calls you by your name." Is. 45:3

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.18
ETH 2610.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83