Fatherless Sons...

in #christian-trail5 years ago (edited)

A95FB1A2-E979-4930-AA97-64F219492A19.jpeg

source

I’m not speaking of the sons who have lost their fathers to death...but the ones who’s fathers are still alive. There is no relationship between them and if there is it’s very little. There is no father son bonding, no fatherly discipline, no one on one man to man talks, no showing the ropes, no gentlemen training and no fatherly love.

A boy needs his father to help shape him into the man he will one day be. Whom is a little boy to look up to if they don’t have a positive man example in front of them? Without proper guidance what direction is he to take? Will he have confidence in himself knowing he has a father out there that chooses not to come around or not to be found? Who will teach him the manly skills he needs to survive and to raise his own family? Will he walk in the footsteps of his father and not be there for his family...since that is the only thing his father has taught him? When will this cycle end?

1684E995-50CD-42F7-BD1D-3D3F6AF901DD.png

E9E35F55-F2E0-43E2-B7E7-F977B9938D35.jpeg

source

My eyes begin to water as I write this post. I know way too many fatherless sons and it breaks my heart. Sad to say some of these fathers I am speaking of are in my own family.

I have seen the negative effects that growing up without a father has on a man. He questions himself and his abilities, he struggles bonding with his own sons, he doesn’t handle finances well, he doesn’t know his worth, makes poor decisions that gets him in trouble and makes excuses for himself. These are some of the things I have witnessed that fatherless sons go through.

Training and discipline starts in the home. If a child does not have the proper foundation to set them up in life, it can be a very long and hard road ahead of them. Family structure is so important and those who lack an active father in their lives suffers for it.

88861690-7458-4C1A-8EB3-705F14E49DD4.png

Statistics show:

63% of youth suicides are from fatherless homes

90% of all homeless and runaway children are from fatherless homes

85% of all children who show behavior disorders come from fatherless homes

80% of rapists with anger problems come from fatherless homes

71% of all high school dropouts come from fatherless homes

statistics source

I truly believe that if more fathers would raise their children there would be less crime and abuse going on in today’s society. There will be no need for them to run out to the streets to find what they need or what they’ve been missing. They would get that love, care and attention right from their own homes.

Mothers that are raising their sons on their own try their best to be both parents. But there is nothing like a father and son relationship. God designed it that way. It was meant for a son to look to his father for certain teachings and guidance just as a daughter to a mother, but sadly the opposite is happening.

C4290EFC-E6A2-42C9-80C7-745E65F77FAC.png

531835D4-4DFB-4D28-B4A5-86233D2AC62E.jpeg

source

Isn’t this a beautiful picture? A father and son bonding spending quality time together. I have a friend who desires a closer relationship with his father. He yearns for his father to feel the same way. He wasn’t apart of his life growing up, only short visits and sending him money from time to time.

Recently my friend’s brother passed away. This left him to be the only surviving son. He thought to himself

surely my brother’s passing will bring us closer together, especially since I am now his only son.

No...it didn’t. He still chases his father in hopes that he will one day chase him back. Whenever his children sees his father they always asks “who is that man?” The visits and returned calls are so far in between that the children can never remember their grandfather (except for the older ones).

Dear fathers, this is a cry out for change. If you have a son out there that you are not involved with and have control over changing that, please do so. He needs you. No matter how many years it’s been, no matter how old he is now he still needs you. Please reach out to your son and be that father in his life that you were meant to be.

Dear sons, it is not your fault your father is distant from you. A grown man makes his own decisions and he has to live with the consequences. I am sorry you have had to walk alone. Those of you who has their mothers in their lives I’m grateful for you. A mother’s love is unmatchable and to have that is such a blessing. You are worth it, you are special and have a purpose here. Know your Father in heaven loves you and will never leave nor forsake you. Keep your head up.

1 John 4:16 KJV- “And we have known and believed the love that God hath to us. God is love; and he that dwelleth in love dwelleth in God, and God in him.”

Deuteronomy 31:8 KJV - “And the Lord, he it is that doth go before thee; he will be with thee, he will not fail thee, neither forsake thee: fear not, neither be dismayed.”

DE472466-9FFA-44A9-8382-6D3499604971.jpeg

This post is dedicated to the boys and men out there who have broken hearts because of their father’s absence in their lives ~

F172136B-1F0F-4B5B-8BA0-A361C7E9D788.jpeg

F3027244-0B1D-408D-AED1-657B15E67E0D.png

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

E074CFDD-A2D9-46F0-9A46-1E6C42A08DDB.jpeg

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

1A2CD3C6-E28B-4D38-B92B-27C89A0E9923.gif

13BB1158-B813-4766-B3EA-7DD0081F085B.jpeg

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

Mmm this is very touching and I can feel so much of what you write. Thank you for writing this. It is truly a special relationship and many mourn the loss of this. I appreciate hearing your words and hope they find the hearts they need to touch <3

Thank you so much for commenting and for sharing your thoughts on this. I like how you put it...

It is truly a special relationship and many mourn the loss of this.

Very true.

I appreciate you reading. 😊

I can feel the pain in your writing. Because it is so true and from the bottom of your heart.
We have many ifs in our lives and its the decision as an adult be it a man or women, mother or father. If we can bring life into this world, its our duty to care for the child.
I hope many mothers and fathers will hear you and listen wisely. As this is the best advise ever.

Thank you @ireenchew. It is our duty to care for them. I hope this gets turned around, it really needs to.

Wow, very good post. I have always said that you need both parents. Each one plays a different role, one parent cannot do justice playing the role of the other parent and the statistics back that up!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. I appreciate your support. I totally agree with what you said.

Wow, very good post. I have always said that you need both parents. Each one plays a different role, one parent cannot do justice playing the role of the other parent and the statistics back that up!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, very good post. I have always said that you need both parents. Each one plays a different role, one parent cannot do justice playing the role of the other parent and the statistics back that up!

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree fully! Thanks for your feedback!

Thank you @mtnmeadowmomma. I appreciate you reading ~

I think every soul needs a mother and a father but without one off them the kids will also grow up to be Nice humans.

I agree! The men I know who don’t have their fathers are nice humans. Thank goodness all fatherless men don’t end up in those statistics above. But we can’t deny it has some kind of affect on them.

Beautifully said
Both parents play such a big role in a kid's life
The other day, I was walking behind watching the older two boys on either side of their father, and when my husband put his arms around them, there was just a beautiful moment and of course I had to quickly whip out my phone and record it.
Loved your call out to Dads and Sons who are in this weird estranged situation <3

Thank you @kaerpediem! Yes each of them play a huge role in a child’s life. Isn’t it special witnessing moments like that? I’m like you I get out my phone and snaps pictures of those moments.

Yep, I'm crying. Wow. What a heartfelt, heartbreaking, and truly important subject to bring to light.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read. This really does need to be brought to light. I appreciate your support ~ 😊

Those statistics are so sad.
My son has a friend in this situation, and I feel so sad for him when he says "I wish my dad was like yours" it just breaks my heart. We do the best we can, he even calls my husband when he needs help. I know it means a lot to him, but it would mean so much more coming from his real dad. Hopefully one day, these absent fathers will wake up and do right by their sons.

Yes they are very sad and alarming. Wow that is so heartbreaking. I am so glad he has you all to find comfort in. It’s a blessing when other men step up to help out. Yes hopefully one day they will ~

Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76