My Hike Up a Mountain to One of China’s Famous Glass Bridges. 100% Solarguy Photo Journal

in #china6 years ago

So Many Stairs, All Up Hill, Spectacular Views



I am starting to settle into this city of LiShui which is rather small compared to Dalian. I still consider Dalian my Chinese hometown and it will always be just that. I am beginning to understand the social dynamics of this city. There aren’t many English speaking Chinese here, or many foreigners either. Of all the foreigners here most are students from Africa and the middle east, studying at the local university. The other foreigners that work are all English teachers, zero variety of expats. And they total about 50 people or so and most are not native speakers. I do feel quite lonely at times since I am the oldest native speaker in the city while the majority of the rest are under 30 years old.


(Love the Old Woman Rock and Superimposed names)

Finding my role in this town of gossip and philandering has been a tricky ride, but I think I am getting the hang of it. It’s only been 2 months, many more to go.


(Endless supply of crystal clear water with giant koi fish.)

I have found some good Chinese friends and have been active in several groups of people. My friend Tony and his family are very popular among the English speaking community. He has really helped me feel at home here. He took me and another new friend to his hometown, about an hour drive out of the city.

Welcome to Small Dragon Canyon

It’s a part of China’s famous “ancient trails” but it has been well developed recently. This glass bridge just opened this year which a great boon for this little village. Famous for its specialty noodles made with Yam powder which makes them a little salty. Quite delicious I must say.


(Good spot for a snack break)

Such amazing views of the surrounding countryside from the bridge but the hike doesn’t stop here. It goes even higher before the decent on the other side.

I will let the photos speak for themselves!

Well, that was just one of my adventures since I got to LiShui. More to share coming to a Steemit post near you soon.

Sort:  

Oh... let the little gecko go. :-)

I tried to catch it but it was quite quick. It jumped in to the cold water to avoid me.

Haha... it survive the monstrous hand.

When I go to China, I wish to visit that bridge oneday. We have glass walkway here in Cebu but it's located in the middle of the city , the view is not stunning as that grand canyon. I believe there are dragons living around that place. See you just caught a baby dragon! We never know oneday his dragon wings will grow and he'll find you lol. Their specialty noodles must be delicious, I wonder why it's salty, aren't Yam are naturally sweet. Anyway love this post and so I can't help resteeming! =)

Yea, I am not sure why the noodles were salty instead of sweet. I'm sure you will see this bridge and many others.

Did you run across the bridge? Lovely mountain views? You're teaching over there?

I jumped, bounced and stomped my feet. I especially stomped when people passed me. made them nervous.

Haha do that in a hanging bridge and will beat you to it. Work alright??

Yes I'm working here as a teacher. It's a good job.. ^^

Oh nice..why china and not elsewhere like Korea or Japan☺

Well, I came here almost 7 years a go on a business trip and decided to stay. Teaching was a suitable job for me. They pay is good and the cost of living is cheap. Korea and Japan are expensive, teacher make more there but they also spend a lot more to just to live, and work a lot more.

Oh really? Good on you, why can't i have a job like that😍😍

I'm afraid of falling off the glass bridge cuz of my acrophobia.

It is a little intimidating when looking down. I had faith the engineers and builders did it right, if not I will be famous for falling. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63768.57
ETH 2478.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54