Escaping the Hustle at Jakarta Airport

in #china5 months ago

Untitled design (89).png

Arriving at Jakarta airport and escaping the hustle of everyday life feels like an accomplishment. The Starbucks debate on who qualifies as "commoners" sparked by a certain politician had been heating up recently. Perhaps it might continue to be a topic of occasional discussion in the future. I couldn't help but wonder if it was a story intended to boast or elevate the dignity of loyal customers. As for me, when it comes to coffee, I believe Atom Coffee is the best, and if not, then it's Bluebeans Coffee.

It's only natural to think that the coffee served at my own building's coffee shop, where I bend over backwards, is the best. Moreover, considering that Bluebeans Coffee was born and opened its first store here, it's even more fitting. Anyway, it's a brand that not only tastes good but also offers great value for money and has been quite successful as a franchise.

In a world where even coffee distinguishes between commoners and the elite, it seems one should drink coffee with dignity.

After a 7-hour flight and an hour-long immigration process, it was already past 11 o'clock local time.

Since I have to catch the first flight to Medan tomorrow morning, I decided to stay at the airport rather than going out to a hotel, fearing I might not get enough sleep. So, I found a seat at the Starbucks store.

Unlike Incheon Airport, where there are outlets at every waiting area, I couldn't find any here, so I had no choice but to come to Starbucks. But if you consider the fact that you can work here, then even Bug's Coffee is worth considering.

Speaking of which, what's with the weather? The thunder and lightning are extraordinary. I thought the monsoon season was over, but apparently not. Is this a welcome greeting for me? Regardless, it's quite a spectacle.

In five hours, I'll be boarding a flight to Sumatra. From there, using land transportation, it'll take around 10 hours to reach Lake Toba. If I use a sedan or a Hiace, I might save an hour or two, but I'm not sure yet. Anyway, once I arrive in Medan, I'll figure out the transportation options from there.

My daughter couldn't come to pick me up herself because she's working, but someone will send me. I'll find out when I arrive tomorrow. Maybe it's because I've been here several times, but I feel relaxed, knowing that I can just go with the flow.

The only thing bothering me is that Asiana Airlines allows 23 kilograms of free checked baggage, but Garuda Indonesia, the airline I'm taking from Jakarta to Medan, only allows 20 kilograms. I packed accordingly for 22 kilograms, so we'll see what happens tomorrow. If it works out, great, if not, I'll come up with a solution. Right now, I'm considering two options: either sending some of the luggage to my daughter's house or leaving some of it here and carrying the rest. There's no harm in trying, and I believe everything will work out fine.

Although traveling back and forth can be exhausting, it also has its own fun and rewards. The only thing missing is having someone to share the journey with. That's why, despite this night being enjoyable in its own way, it's not entirely fulfilling.

Thank you.
Cheonwoon
2024/02/13

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48