Building Life Skills for Children - My Personal Experiences - Helping Children Gain Confidence

in #children5 years ago

The process of growing up has many learning's, at every stage of growing up a Child comes across various situations in life which are first time for them and giving them a helping hand in those situation is a critical part of their education process. The understanding that they need to develop is, that they need to keep going even if things get hard and critical.

Confidence does not come to all Children by itself. Yes some Children are very smart and they have it in them, but there are many children who lack it and when it is not handled sensitively it can very deeply impact the child.
I will narrate this experience with my Son in his growing up. Till the age of 3 he did not speak. I had no issues with that, he had started with some words and was picking it up very slowly. We used to encourage his vocabulary at home but never push it. Then he was enrolled in the School in Nursery class. For the first few days it was going fine, but gradually I observed that he would make a lot of fuss to go to school. The vocabulary that he had already developed, he stopped speaking and used very few words. He was withdrawing and would get scared for very small things. In the beginning I was not able to understand what was happening. This was all in just 15 days of joining the school. I went to his School and spoke to the teacher. The Teacher did not tell me anything, she gave me a sugar coated talk and said he is perfectly fine in school.

Around 2 months went by and I was getting restless. At home we were doing everything to give him comfort and assure him that it's ok if he picks up his learning's slowly. I would go to his school and everything looked normal there.
I was going mad thinking what was happening to him. Even a little raise of voice and he would start crying. I could not take it anymore so I requested the Principal of his school to spend some time outside his class without his Teacher's awareness. And there was an utter disbelief for me, I would see that the Teacher would continuously pick up on him and in a harsh tone say rude things. He was made to sit on the last bench of his class. Immediately I could get it why he was behaving in the manner he did. I visited the Principal office and without any thought informed her that I have taken the decision to withdraw my Son from their School.
I knew it would be a challenge for me to get him admission in another School at that part of the year. Anyways in Mumbai, Schools are a big time business. But then for me at that point of time getting him out of that fear and building his confidence was the most important thing to do.
Then I met a very kind lady who used to Home School Children till the age of 5 to 6 and I requested her if should could consider him. She agreed and we worked together building up on his confidence again and getting him back to normal. In 6 months time he started talking and doing fine.


Source

This whole incident made me very sensitive towards him and I started keeping a close eye on his every behavior and activity. It took him almost 3 years to get completely out of it. To think of it, if I would have not withdrawn him from the school I may have ended up in a serious trouble for him.

There are many such situations that Children keep going through, which can either make them or break them. Anxiety and lack of confidence can hinder their learning process and set them behind. As they grow up and and also go through physical changes these setbacks that they have faced in their early ages also impacts their maturity process.

Their early days are the most important and sensitive ones to deal with. As we think about preparing them for the future unknown needs which are rapidly changing in today's time we all the more need to be cautious about what is happening with them and how they are reacting to people around them.
Some Children are slow and parents need not feel ashamed of that. They just need to be their support system and help them grow. The way we talk to our Children becomes their inner-voice.

Thank you for visiting my blog.* 👼🏻👼🏻💖💖🌹🌺🌸


"Unlimited Abundance, Blissful Happiness and Unconditional Love"

My other blogs of Interest


The road to Steem Fest | Fears
"Sublime Sunday - Evening at the Beach"
"What kind of Relationship is most vital to long term Happiness; Family, Friendship or Romantic?"
What is the root of conflict between mankind? What needs are not being met? @ecoTrain QOTW
"The road to Steem Fest - Three truths, one lie"

Member of


Supporting People Who Help Make The World A Better Place @ecoTrain

Sort:  

Yes, it is important to let children be children, play and learn. There is age too much prohibition and protection today.

True, now it is getting all the more tougher

I think parents and the persons concerned should observe their children where the child interests lies and then to try to take them to things. workshops or whatever where they can improve the child's interests and skills so that when the child grows up it will know what they would do in the rest of their lives. @nainaztengra

It should be that way, but you see nowadays no one has time to give so it is all in fast pace that everything is happening. It is the parent only who needs to be vigilant and take care of the child

upvoted ur post

Posted using Partiko Android

What a wonderful Mama Lion you are!! And yes, it's really important to observe the environments which shape behaviour, and then to act to protect our little ones. They ARE our future!!!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

Thank you my dear. I became a Mom at a very young age and I was learning and growing up with my Son too. :-)

it is crazy that such teachers are still allowed to continue teaching. Did the principal take action against her? A similar incident happened to my niece during the K.G. classes and my brother was very stern and he got the teacher reported.

It is great that you did not give up and instead chose to stand by him.

True, I really did not follow on the action towards the teacher, I was so much focused on my son that I could not. But it is sad that these teachers do not realize so much harm they can bring to children

right you are

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22