Return of the prodigal pullet

in #chickens6 years ago

I started my last post with a tale of frustration. Sam and I collaboratively lost a chicken. The decision was quickly made not to chase the bird, but to wait til evening and go get her from whatever tree she roosted in.

HowToCatchAChicken.png

That decision was made because:

  1. Chickens are fast
  2. I am slow
  3. Fast chickens laugh as they run away from slow people.

They make you feel awful. Big meanies, I tell ya.

I knew this was an approach because we used it on the first night of taking the run down. The rooster decided he wanted to sleep under the coop instead of going near the front where we were working, so I scooped him up easily and put him into the coop.

That was my planned approach with our runaway.

I waited for a while and looked back in the alley a lot. She was back there clicking up a storm. I assume she was trying to ask the others how the heck to get home. The back gate was left open for her shortly after she ran off.

As I waited in NY chair on the porch, I saw her. She came back through the gate when I was half expecting her to fly back over the fence.

IMG_20180728_204347019.jpg

I waited as she walked around the run a few times, then flew up on the pallets.

IMG_20180728_205323298.jpg

I watched her wall up on the roof of the run and try to fly up in the tree. I guess the branch she landed on was too big around, and she fell off onto the ground. That was comical to watch.

After trying to perch on the fence and falling, she settled on the top of the pallets on the far side by the back fence. I waited a few minutes to make sure she wasn't going to move more, and approached slowly.

IMG_20180728_210210554.jpg

I inched closer and reached out to grab her and she moved up a few inches, so I backed off for a few minutes before trying again.

IMG_20180728_210348964_TOP.jpg

Maybe I'm weird, but I liked holding her. I petted her a minute before putting her in the coop.

She's home sleeping safely now. It's reassuring that she came back. I want the birds to get more comfortable with me so I can hold em more.

I think I'll go sit out and light the fire pit now.

Stay relevant y'all

Nate

Sort:  

So, where is the rocky training montage for us to watch?

Of me getting in shape so I can catch a chicken? Hell no. Usain Bolt couldn't catch one.

I have no such aspiration.

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

Good moves!

Should you catch a chicken that is really upset, take your thumb and forefinger and rub gently on both sides of the breast bone area. This usually will have an immediate hypnotizing effect. It's important to calm them as quickly as you can. They do have heart attacks easily...

I also know that holding them upside down by the feet, having smoothed the wings to the body will calm them somewhat. But I much prefer the stroking the breastbone as I think it more completely calms them.

It's funny, that's kinda what I was doing with the hand I held her with. She calmed quickly after I had her, but for the first second or two she was pretty upset with the idea of being held by a giant creature that she was probably convinced would tear her apart lol

So glad you got her safe and sound !
Now your chicken adventure really begins!

I'm really excited for it :)

Like I said in my last post a few hours ago, I have so many ideas! It's starting to feel like a homestead now. I'm in love lol

They are Alot of fun. The Guinea are new for me. Love em but different from chickens.

How are they different? Every time I search chickens, there seems to be a lot of results for guineas too, but I've not read about them.

For one thing they are Alot louder. Lol
They are harder to tame their instincts are very strong.
They are wonderful for tick control and that's why I need them

Nice! Do they egg and fertilize as well?

Yes but the eggs are tiny, they are prized for bug control as
well being great watch birds.
They are not the best mothers.

You just planted 0.15 tree(s)!


Thanks to @nateonsteemit

We have planted already 3762.23 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19226.95
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Hilarious! Oh the joys of homesteading. Such an appropriate meme and your 3 points....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73