Day 528 of my captivity, written by Chicken

in #chicken7 years ago (edited)

Day 528 of my captivity. The 2 legged thing that serves me my food and water, laid hands upon my self again last night. To my horror and shame, it trimmed one of my beautiful arms back to a stubble, adorned me with green jewelry and powdered my bum. Apparently, they found my secret release weapon out of the prison grounds. So I am forced to stand forlornly, gazing upon the greener pastures I once visited with impunity, under the watchful eye of the warden, who objected to my effecting self release, but was powerless to do anything about it. My life, has come crashing down around my ears, I am forced to mix with the bedraggled hordes, eating from the common trough, and drinking from the white jug of yuck. After all, one doesn't simply drink from fresh water sources, NO NO NO. One must drink from the dirtiest, most bouquet laden, poop rich waters, without fear of probiotics and vitamins that are good for one. I will continue to languish, here in my prison, until the day I regrow my stubble, and once again soar the skies like a great ground tub o' lard that I am. Signed, Yours Truly, Chicken.IMG_20160829_160940.jpg

Sort:  

You can see this thinking in their eyes - and when they get out, they inextricably end up just running around the coop area frantically looking for a way back in :D

Yes, that is the most hilarious part. They spend all day trying to figure out how to get out, then the rest of the day, trying to figure out how to get back IN!!!!! WHY???

Well done! I pasture our birds behind an electric fence, and I know if they could fly out they would. My escape artists are my Leghorns. Their wings are the only ones I trim. So funny and very true about trying to get back in once they are out!

Yes, it's the continual struggle for me to keep them alive and away from predators, for for them to express their death wish in full, daily. Much as I love them, they have absolutely no sense of self preservation and I want to throttle them, pretty much daily. We are at 350 right now, with 100 being meat birds. I adore them, but I need 8 foot tall fencing and gates to keep them in, and even then........ ;)

Congratulations @caldwellacres! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62084.99
ETH 2415.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62