Pumpkin, a Chibera story

in #chibera6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/chibera/@chibera/chibera-tell-us-about-characters-story-usd200-in-rewards

Pumpkin locked her little shop in Morraw in the middle of the day. She hadn't been surprised to hear this burly knight fellow proclaiming his having of a quest, because that was what those types were always doing. She was, however, a bit taken aback to have him in her shop. They usually proclaimed these things in the Honeyed Sow or some other tavern. This one must have been a bit cleverer than most, but she nonetheless had no patience for that type. Maybe he'd even just happened upon a good idea entirely by luck. A great fiddler, though. She wasn't one to jump through all these ridiculous hoops that wealthy merchants amused themselves with, dangling ridiculous quests like carrots.

A great fiddler, though. It had been a dozen years since Inkpot had left. She'd built a life and her shop. She'd become a renowned fiddle-maker. She'd fallen in love and been fallen in love with. She'd met the most famous and the humblest musicians in Morraw. She'd visited the Brillance and dipped her toes in its waters. A lot of growing had happened in 12 years, but still, when her mind drifted across those bright tones that Inkpot could draw with his bow, even the memory of them loosened the knots in her shoulders that she'd forgotten were there.

A great fiddler, though. He was a great fiddler, and, while she hadn't a clue where he was, and couldn't care in the slightest about this quest, a teeny tiny spark of hope lit in her that she could make her own quest. She could go on a quest that mattered, and she could find him again. And if there was the promise of something more than the same life he'd left, maybe he come back with her, and she could hear him play again and again and again.

All she knew was that folks had been telling him to head to the World Tree for days and years. That's where he must have headed. But they hadn't been in Morraw. Did he make it to the World Tree and get their wish for him? If so, why didn't he come back to Sheep's Hill. Maybe he'd become a great adventurer. Maybe he was just like that big fellow now. Boy, she hoped not.

She had a little money in her belt, and the gouge, chisel, and hammer she used in her craft. With nothing more, she hurried without looking harried out the east gate. She'd intersect the path from Sheep's Hill to the World Tree in just a day. She slowed as she passed the guard stable. There in the yard was a tall, dapple grey Libbashaner next to a plump Shadland munching on clover. Between the two equines stood that big fellow Shalgarth. He caught her eye and, rather than proclaiming, he bowed very low and spoke quietly.

"Fiddlemaker, I'm glad you're joining me on my quest for the greatest fiddler in all the land. I'm sure you wouldn't be a quest-snatcher, and, in fact, were just going to go get the fiddler for me. But since the world is dangerous, I thought I would be remiss in my appreciation if I did not accompany you. We'll get wherever we are going faster atop these mounts. I hope you know how to ride." He spoke with all the stoic professionalism she'd expect from someone looking like he did, but she couldn't help but believe his tone also seemed to say, I'm not such a great fool.

Pumpkin didn't have words. Her mind raced with the possible choices she could make. Run or hide or or or... But instead, she walked to the Shadland, patted it on the neck, scrambled onto its back, and with as much dignity as she could muster simply rode ahead.

Shalgarth followed.


The picture really has nothing to do with the story, but it's of pumpkins, and that's her name. I took this picture.
IMG_20180918_125938.jpg


OMG everyone, this is so much fun. There are at least 3 more stories to go. I love these people I've created and I can't wait to see them interact. Um. You guys. I'm gushing.

Sort:  

Improv, this is getting really exciting! I am thrilled that you are participating, and also I hope that your excitement bleeds out to others and we can continue to create this fictional world and its bottomless thread of stories together!

I know that you have motivated me to continue my story, and I should have another chapter coming out later this week!

Cheers!

Excellent! I confess I have daydreams about them actually hiring me to help write official content for the world. I'd love to develop quests and NPC conversations and world-building. All the creative writing stuff that doesn't actually have to do with coding.

Well I am right there with you in the wishing and hoping department! Getting involved early and loudly is a great start!

They'll also presumably need some voice actors for NPCs. That's us. I hope they'll be willing to work with union contracts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Talk about doing something on the spur of the moment. Oh I hope Pumpkin can find Inkpot and I am glad that she has Shalgarth with her, now that he has knocked that chip off of his shoulder. I love the name "Inkpot."

Yay! I love that you're enjoying these! They're very fulfilling to write.

Yay! I love that you're
Enjoying these! They're very
Fulfilling to write.

                 - improv


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46