Chess problem 40 / Schachaufgabe 40steemCreated with Sketch.

in #chess7 years ago (edited)

English


Some time ago a friend let me solve a really nice chess problem whose solution I found to be very aesthetic, so that I just got the idea to present it here for you. Unfortunately first I couldn't remember the exact position anymore ... but now after some minutes of thinking I could reconstruct it again. It is a very nice example of how effective knight and bishop sometimes can work together. Do you see how black could save the day?


Deutsch


Vor einiger Zeit ließ mich ein Freund ein wirklich hübsches Schachproblem lösen, das ich sehr ästhetisch fand, so dass ich nun auf die Idee kam, es euch hier zu präsentieren. Leider fiel mir zunächst die exakte Stellung nicht mehr ein ... aber nach ein paar Minuten konnte ich sie wieder rekonstruieren. Es handelt sich um ein schönes Beispiel dafür, wie effektiv Springer und Läufer zuweilen zusammenarbeiten können. Seht ihr, wie Schwarz sich retten konnte?


FEN: 8/4p2p/4Pk1P/8/b6K/4n2P/4Q3/7N b - - 0 1


Black to move: / Schwarz am Zug:

Sort:  


The winners and the solution. :)

If I see correctly @cryptastic was the first one with the correct solution in the main line, while @greatwolf made a nice overview about both winning lines depending on whites first move. Both did very well, congrats (I upvoted both) - the problem is solved. Here the overview:

  1. ... Nf5+.

And now:

a)
2 . Kg4 Bd1!
3 . Qxd1 Ne3+ (followed by Nxd1).

b)
2 . Kh5 Be8+
3 . Kg4 Bh5+!
4 . Kxh5 Ng3+
5 . Nxg3 and stalemate (draw).

End position:



Hi Jaki, nice solution! A couple of minutes ago I had a quick look at the puzzle. I found solution a) but did not see solution b) with Lh5! and Sg3. Very nice and asthetic.

What a fantastic combination of forks, pins and a stalemate idea!!

Good on you both!👏

Great Move !!

Wieder ein äußerst trickreiches Schachrätsel!

I'm seeing a potential forced stalemate by black or white loses queen, after Nf5+ let's consider Kg4 and Kh5 separately:

First Kg4 line:

  1. Kg4, Bd1!
  2. Qxd1, Ne3+

White loses queen on next move.

Alternative Kh5 line:

  1. Kh5, Be8+
  2. Kg4, Bh5+!
  3. Kxh5, Ng3+!
  4. Nxg3 stalemate.

For black to get a draw out of this position considering he's down on so much material, not bad at all.

@jaki01 got you a $2.13 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@jaki01 got you a $2.13 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Resteemed :-)

Danke vielmals! :)

Sehr gerne @jaki01 :-)

Thank you very much for your great support! ;)

@jaki01 This is the first chess related post I have seen in my one month short stay on Steemit. I think first move of black would be Knight to f5. Then white has to move King to g4 or g5. Then the Bishop comes in... I am a bit rusty at chess now. Would love to hear what the solution is. Thanks for this lovely post. Upvoted.

I am more into wildlife/travel blogs after I stepped back from being a successful executive. I am doing a 'Photospeak' series with my memories from Africa - with just a photo with minimal words - Letting the picture speak for itself mostly. I would be honored if you can take a look at latest one when you have time and provide your valuable comments. Thanks

After

  1. ... Nf5+
    white can only play 2. Kg4 or Kh5, but not 2. Kg5 as you suggested.
    What does "... the bishop comes in ..." exactly mean? :)

Hi. Meant h5 not g5. Typo. Am having a bit of a spotty internet issue because I am traveling. I am unable to see the board continuously because image loads very slowly but I think next - should black try Be8 you think?

Be8 after which white move?

Sorry. Can not focus enough to think right now. Apologies for attempting and wasting your time. Should not have done that when I was expecting to be moving. Perhaps you or someone else will elaborate the moves before I will be able to.

Damn. Im at my lunch break and need to go bck to work. Will definitely try that when i finish! (Cant wait!!!)

Sorry, I'm late to the party.

wow... that not easy to do... i am not to smart to solve that... good share @jaki01

i cant to play this chess, but i can play in real chess

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63326.84
ETH 2648.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82