You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chess problem 23 / Schachaufgabe 23

in #chess7 years ago

Yes @jaki01, I thought I would do the same move with the white knight. Then I've scrolled down and saw the additional board. Did you sleep last night? Is the baby still not crying much? My best wishes to you all. I would move as follows:

  1. …Rb6, 39. …f5 or Kxh6. Both moves are not very optimal for black but I don't know what black has done in this moment…
Sort:  

White can win much faster than with 1. Rb6 !

I am a night owl anyway: I always go to bed late. At the same time normally I like to sleep very long in the mornings, so that we have kind of an agreement that in the mornings my wife has to care about the baby if it is crying (and fortunately it is not crying so often yet). :-)

That's true. Faster:

  1. …Rg7!, 39. …Kxh5, 40. …Kh3, 41. …Rxb4, 42. …g2–g4!!!!!!
    Happy little family, thank you for this game.

Right, congratulations! Just the numbers of the moves are wrong, haha! :-)
37 . Rg7+ Kxh5 38. Kh3!, and now nothing can be done against the threat 39. g4#
Black can only delay the checkmate with useless moves like 38. ... Rxf3+.

Very interesting how even boring looking endgame positions rather often hold the potential of directly attacking the opponents king!

Thanks. Steem on, dear @jaki01. I love your problems. The chess problems, of course.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63696.24
ETH 2486.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69