My trip to Chernobyl zone. 1 part

in #chernobyl8 years ago (edited)

It was 2008 and my brother was working on a video game, recreating ghost-town Pripyat and Chernobyl forbidden zone. One day he called me telling that his team and himself are going to Pripyat and I can go with them if I can help with photo equipment (they needed to shoot lots of textures for 3D objects).  I have strong attraction for abandoned places, therefore visiting the zone was my dream since I was a kid. 

I packed all my digital cameras and most importantly my film Canon 33V . :) 


Now just watch the photos and try to feel it without words, at least because one of the main feelings there is incredibly deep, perfect and almost sterile silence...
 

The Sun. 


Old Soviet gym.
 

A bathtub outside next to the building. 


A fallen tree in front of a restaurant. 


The USSR coat of arms. 


Clock on the fire station. 


Barbed wire in the ghost-town. 


Radiation sign, painted on a door. 


A small pine-tree which was supposed to be decorative for facade of the police department after 22 years became a giant in its small pot. 


The trees had grown into this carousel. 


A cart from soviet “supermarket”. 


A toy in kindergarten. 


To be continued...


My trip to Chernobyl zone. 2 part

Sort:  

I don't think there is a good reason for flagging this post, but someone did, probably @mazdakht2016.

Flagging?? Does it mean report? Why? Anyway thank you for your comment!

That's a place I'd like to visit someday.

I am fasinated by abandoned towns. Excellent photo work, I could feel the desolation.

That is an incredible place. I have not been there, but like you, I have a strange attraction to abandoned places. If only I could go for myself. Until then, I will be following.

Thank you! Actually it's not so difficult to go there once you are in Kiev (the capital of Ukraine). I think it's open for tourists. :)

Fascinating shots! Upvoted and followed.

Impressive photos. Upvoted, followed and resteemed.

Haunting images. Great post!

Great photos! They really tell the story!

Thank you! I'm glad you liked them. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32