You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chemistry Lesson: Part 10 (Atomic Structure Part 1)

in #chemistry-lesson7 years ago

I also welcome all of the physicist Steemians to tell me where I am wrong in this simplistic history lesson of atoms!

Damned! That's not a chemistry lesson but a quantum mechanics lesson. I hope I don't have to write a chemistry lesson instead... I will not be able to do as good as you did for a physics lesson :D

(Don't worry, I still have complementary information to bring, and this could happen in 20 days.)

There are however two details I don't totally agree with you (but I partially do, don't worry, and those are details).

  1. In fact, Planck deduced that the energy was quantized solely in the context of the black bodies. Then, Einstein reinterpreted Planck's work and generalized the concept as a property of any radiation.

  2. The Rydberg constant value is 1.0967758 × 105 cm−1. It is not an energy.

PS: there is a planks constant on the text that should be a Planck constant ;)

Sort:  

We cover this stuff too in a standard freshman undergraduate general chemistry course. :) Just not in as much detail as is done in physics.

There were 2 "plank"... how embarrassing, can't even spell the man's name right. The Rh constant value I gave is 1.0967758 × 105 cm−1/hc ... but I didn't state it. ;)

I hope I didn't steal any of your upcoming post's thunder @lemouth!!

Don't worry, I have plenty of complementary material you haven't mentioned at all :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79