You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 4 Things You Didn't Know About Criminal Background Checks

in #charity5 years ago

It sounds crazy there is only 1 fact with what you mentioned that seems odd and that's the 58% of employers will allow you to explain. I would think that number would lower.

Sort:  

Yes, that is a surprising stat to me as well; however, it's still alarmingly high. For people who were arrested for things like being in the wrong place at the wrong time, and never charged with a crime, it can have a devastating impact on their financial future.

Also, while many employers may be willing to hear someone's explanation, I'm not sure that many actually believe the person, or are willing to hire folks with certain types of crimes. For example, how many of those 58% do you think would be willing to hire a convicted murderer to work in their business?

Ostensibly, the person has served their sentence...but it turns out that for many, the sentence never really ends.

I don't see where any business would. They would feel that it's putting their employees in harms way. They would play up the 'what if' factor. They get iffy on odd things.

I admit. I have been arrested it was something stupid. I was driving a relative's car back to their house since the tags were expired. I received a ticket and was allowed to return the vehicle. The family members said they would pay the ticket. I trusted they did. I ended up with a bench warrant for failure to pay. I was with my now husband and a friend. I was sitting in the back seat. They had been sitting in the parking lot running plates. We pulled out from the parking lot and bam. At that point it had been 3 years. So I was handcuffed, took a little ride was booked. They didn't put me into holding since my husband was on the way if he took 10 more mins I would have had to spend the night. I have had 2 jobs turn me down because of that. I know my incident is nothing comparatively, but if I get flagged I can only imagine how hard it is for them. I guess this is why so many endup back in. We don't rehabilitate. Or give them a means to survive outside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36