TRASH PICKUP MISSION #2... DIDN'T GO AS WELL: Isla De La Piedra, Mazatlan Mexico

in #charity6 years ago

Many of you saw my last post about my family and I cleaning an entire beach of debris in San Carlos, Mexico. We weren't there for too long, but we were desperate to make a change to such a gorgeous beach!

Yesterday, we headed to the fishing boat beach of Isla de la Piedra in Mazatlan (above). I must admit, as much as I am about 50% fluent in Spanish, the impression I had from the fisherman preparing a boat was unwelcoming. Telling me to go to other beaches that have lots of trash as they toss an empty soda bottle to the ground in front of us.

We moved quickly pass them, but carried on.

It's not about them...it's about the WORLD as a whole-saving people, marine life and animals!

Unfortunately, my family and I do a "4-bag rule" when we head out to clean up! 4-garbage bags worth of pick-up are about the attention span our two boys can give before they are tired and ready to head home.

Last time in San Carlos, 4-bags cleaned an entire beach about 300' long by 35' deep. Yesterday, at the fishing boat beach, 4-garbage bags cleaned about a 40'x40' area only.

My INSTANT GRATIFICATION feeling was left feeling quite unsatisfied! We only touched 1/4 of the beach.

I wanted to do this area SO badly because with

FISHING BOATS = FISH/TRASH, FISH=BIRDS, TRASH=POLLUTION & ANIMAL DEATHS...all in ONE SMALL AREA!

My brain continues to try and REALLY think about what I can do about this out of control problem. I have contacted Non-Profits (#theplasticbank, #socialplastic) that have created trash to have VALUE for the locals by melting plastic down into NURDLES and reselling them back to the manufacturing companies for purchase to reuse the plastic, but they are helping countries far worse than Mexico at the moment.

Trash is just trash here! See these bins?

Each week, this island even has a garbage truck come through. Most houses have about 2-3 of these little carts full of trash and that's it while trash still lays around their yard!!!! For me, I find an area of opportunity to get the people to extinguish of ALL their trash and not just a couple bins worth.

So...I am starting small with myself and family cleaning up! In the meantime, I am continuing to meet people who have ideas/information to help me understand the situation.

THAT'S NOW 1 & 1/4 BEACHES CLEANED & 8 GARBAGE BAGS FULL OF TRASH & COUNTING!


After Photo-Isla de la Piedra Fishing boat beach


After Photo-San Carlos

Still so much better than what it was and who knows how many animals will live today because of us!

Thanks for visiting our RV Blog as we travel North America! If you like posts about #traveling, #photography, #nature, #food, #health and discovering the amazing beauty of what we see in our #life and back at our home in #southafrica, you are welcome to follow our family here!

Want to see our PREVIOUS POST on CURED OF CANCER IN 2-WEEKS Click here!

https://steemit.com/cancer/@soulsavers/cured-of-cancer-in-2-weeks-what-i-did-in-the-south-of-spain

Stay tuned for more of our 'Americas' Road Trip!

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably. You can support the live sustainably cause on Steemit by upvoting, resteeming and creating content under the tag #livesustainably.

I would love to learn more about this...do you have a post or site where I can go to?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44