Amateur Adventures at Home #14 : Walking the Coast - Blacksmiths to Breakwall

in #charity7 years ago


CuTQupaVUAAPiQi-660x330.jpg

Hi Beautiful Steemians

Well as I mentioned in my last post I had a really dumb idea to walk 27.5kms along the beach from Norah Head Lighthouse to Terrigal Skillion in a charity walk to raise money for the NSW Surf Lifesavers and the local surf clubs along that stretch of beach.


Header-large.png


In fact it was such a terrible idea that the very day after I signed myself up for the second walk 26.9 kms from Blacksmiths Beach at Swansea to the Breakwall at Newcastle Lighthouse (and by signing myself up I mean of course @cryptoandzen as well)

This was however a part of the coast I was unfamiliar with, whereas the previous walk was in my playground so to speak.

Surely the new view and exploring a new place would detract from the pain of slogging it up almost 27 kms of beach.


slide4.jpg

You'd think, wouldn't you!

Also I thought I'd be smart and wear the super duper hiking sandals I'd bought while in the Italian Alps. Surely they'd be better than plain old sneakers.


14650661_10154716725072249_2170488151665543375_n.jpg

You'd think, wouldn't you!

Once again it's an early morning start - driving to the finish in Newcastle and catching a bus back to the start, this time from Swansea a little coastal village halfway from the Central Coast to Newcastle. Great fishing spot and in the channel you'll sometimes see a family of penguins splashing in the shallows. Personally I wouldn't swim in the channel, because I don't think the sharks are that friendly.

Blacksmiths Beach however - separated from the channel by a breakwall is a popular family beach - but there way no time on the sand and soaking up the rays.

Along this stretch of coastal walk there is actually a fair bit less sand - but plenty of bush to make your way through. Although some of the cliff top views are spectacular. Cliff top however infers there might be a few hills?


slide3.jpg

You'd think wouldn't you - but this time you'd be right!

Again though, it's an interesting way to see a part of the coast we weren't that familiar with.


14516371_10154716725852249_6726311339900770479_n.jpg

(@cryptoandzen is not looking so happy at this point - more like he's tolerating my dumb ideas - as he always does god love him!)

The walk passes through Glenrock State Recreation Area and Arawaba National Park.. but no time to explore - we were on a time-limit if I wanted to pick up another medal - cause you know - I have to prove I did it :) But we definitely found some places to go back and explore at leisure .


14606270_10154716726047249_2339740222850005037_n.jpg

Eventually the walk brings you into civilisation and a proper cycle/ walking pathway for the last few kilometers and some spectacular views down to Newcastle and Nobby's beach. A stroll along the Anzac walk is much easier on the feet - but by this point it pretty much doesn't really matter - walking hurts!


14639839_10154716725362249_6787741631371124833_n.jpg

Yes that's steps in the background... lots and lots of steps.....

The heart breaking bit of the walk (or maybe foot-breaking) is the long walk out to the lighthouse along the breakwall - which seems about five times as long as normal when its at the end of 27kms.


slide7.jpg

The bit that makes you cry.. is once you collect your medal at the end of the breakwall - you gotta walk back along the wall. We managed to make it as far as the surfclub and the first cold beer we could find! Plenty of hydration and plenty of rest


14516375_10154714776717249_8136046554771213334_n.jpg


14666050_10154716726217249_2988594916267434044_n.jpg


21463038_506887426324040_1401302667792916986_n.jpg

All in all there are four walks in the coastal walks for charity which cover most of the coast from Newcastle to Killcare.

This year my intention is to knock off the two remaining walks Copa to Killcare and Caves to Catho.

So until the next adventure - Steem on with Love and Light


upcats.png

My Beautiful Upcats were designed by the one and only beautiful @ryivhnn

If you enjoyed this post don't forget to UPVOTE and Hit that FOLLOW Button!

Let's All Share the Steemit Love!


DQmbD9Et8EtYXcMBhuxJQM1fZe4UmEHShUVCWXkLZtVF6Zi_1680x8400.png

Don't forget to come check out the teamaustralia tag and see what exciting things we are all up to in the land of Oz! It's full of Aussies and Aussie-lovers with great stories from when we are at home or loose in the world!

Thanks to @bearone for creating my beautiful teamaustralia banner which I love sooooo much! Don't forget to check out her posts and show her some love as well.

If you are a newbie and looking for help - or you just want to help support the minnows and grow this wonderful platform of ours - please consider checking out minnowsupportproject. This is a fantastic initiative to help everyone grow together and is full of fantastic advice for anyone starting out. You can find out more about it here.

https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@minnowsupport/minnow-support-project-problem-statement-vision-statement-mission-statement-and-plan-to-help-you-grow-from-minnow-to-whale-with


DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

(Logo and Banner Created By @justcallmemyth - another great Steemian you should check out and support)

Sort:  

Great post, resteemed, I remember the walk well, very sore feet, ha ha.

Well don't remember too well.. cause I should tell you I've signed us up for two more walks lol
But remember.. you said for better or worse :)

Good job guys. I would love to do some charity walks. Especially the Autism steps walk. My big problem is no one to go with. Need to bribe some of my friends perhaps lol.

@crytpoandzen had no choice I just signed him up lol!

I like it, lol. But my partner always works away, makes it hard to drag him along to anything lol.

Thank you for sharing. I enjoyed reading. 😊

Glad you enjoyed

That’s an impressive walk and a beautiful area

That beer must have tasted so good

Tip!

I'm not a beer drinker normally but "Hell Yeah!" lol

Lol 😂
I used to be a big beer drinker but now off any alcohol because of meds and now don’t miss it at all

Yes with the Keto diet we are not "really" drinking ie we had a glass of dry white with our valentines day seafood platter :) but pretty much cut it out where as we would have a glass with dinner most nights. Have to say we do feel much better and clearer for it.. even one or two glasses makes a big difference

I have to admit I do feel better in some ways when I gave up beer

woi is very beautiful. i hope you can vote me and I invite you to vote me!! Awesome upvote?

Very nice post and really amazing adventure @shellyduncan

Every honor on such a walk. You do a noble thing to help others. Since I can not walk so much we help in other ways. Good luck on your noble adventures.

thank you.. yes everyone can help in their own way

"The part that makes you cry..."

Doh. Yeah..you don't get a second medal for that?

I do lot's of things for medals lol

I have only hiked in open toe shoes once... great pics and at least you were able to have some beer at the end. Ya'll have a beautiful country down there, I really enjoyed it when I had the good fortune to visit for a couple of weeks. btw I fear the kangaroo.

glad you like our country.. although if you fear the kangaroo.. you might be focussed on the wrong thing :)
Although on a serious note - they can actually do some real damage with their hind legs and claws. We don;t tend to tell that to tourists though... they already think everything in Aus can kill them so we gotta let people think we have some cute and fluffy critters hahaha

I didn't see the snakes or any thing out at Urulu, but I had to caution myself with the urge to just pet the cute kangaroo, I think a kangaroo could make short work of me. Although I did have a kangaroo burger. I had to try one. That leaves me a little conflicted on the inside. I found the people to be very friendly, had a wonderful time, cheers!

wow amazing sence in the world....this is a very nice post..thank you for your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50