You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Vote for the children of Syria this Christmas on Steemit

in #charity8 years ago

Good idea but I'm not playing. The CEO of Unicef makes a six figure salary plus benefits and only a few cents per dollar go to the cause while the Executive Directors of some small charities draw minimum wage and work for free at times to make ends meet for the greater good. The children of Syria will get nothing from this venture. Just find a Syrian family nearby; they may have relatives with kids there you can help.

Sort:  

Fair enough point!
The great thing about a forum like this is we can have a discussion about issues like this without censorship and we can be completely open and transparent. Your response highlights this point to me. So maybe, or maybe not, via Steemit but I hope this post will lead to bigger things for transparency among donations and the NGO sector.

To add to the point that Steemit is such a great forum for discussion and learning. I came across today in another older post the following project which is really interesting https://frank.money/ and would help to increase transparency.

What mainly worries me about donations via a forum like this are

  • How to trust the poster.
  • Is it even a real charity.

The second point is partly the reason I chose UNICEF for the first post I am making relating to charitable donations via Steemit. UNICEF for all its rights or wrongs is well known. Fairly transparent. I have had experience seeing their work in the past. The Irish chapter is also a registered charity in Ireland which is quite a regulated sector and adds a level of confidence for me to deal with.

I completely see where you are coming from though.

I completely agree with you regarding transparency and if Steemit can make that happen, that'd be a huge leap in the right direction. I do a lot of work with charities and I can honestly tell you that the only way to gauge whether the charity is using the donated funds effectively (for programs) rather than embezzling them for its founders is by reading their financial statements and audits. If the numbers add up, all good. I'd like to see some Steemit members with an accounting background attempt this in order to vet a few charities to publicly support.

That's nice idea. I have a financial background. If you would like to work on that project some time with me pm me on steemit chat (@eroche)

Sounds good. Now to find the password for the chat ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67