The Awesome SMILE project of @indayclara : Transforming and Shaping the lives of Street Children | We need your support my fellow steemians! | Poverty No More!

in #charity6 years ago (edited)

The Awesome SMILE Project was initiated by @indayclara which aims to support the street childrens who suffered poverty here in Cebu City, Philippines. This meaningful project would truly helped the street childrens in building their dreams. This is the best way to put a priceless smile on their angelic faces and also aims to lift the burden of poverty.

DQmPtZdJuVxWzvFTrnP1HnHnn7SFGNFK4BMozLBmMFSoe5r_1680x8400.jpg image source: indayclara

Story behind The Awesome SMILE Project

Last May 12, 2018, I was invited to attend a feeding program for the street children as celebration of our friend’s birthday. And with an eager heart, I arrived at the venue early enough to meet the street children before the program started. It filled my heart with mixed emotions. One kid just started running towards me and gave me a hug! I started interacting with the kids. The food was delivered and the hosting family arrived. We held a short program with a few games—the kids sure had a lot of fun. At one point, a kid approached me and asked for my shoes. One kid also told me that he did take a bath but wore the same clothes since he doesn’t have extra ones.

The Capuchin Tertiary Sisters of the Holy Family have opened the parking area of their dormitory to these children. The kids stay at the place every morning, between 9:00 to 12:00pm, except Tuesdays and Sundays. This place has become a safe haven for kids: to have free meals, take a shower, wash their clothes and sleep for a while. The free meals they have are sponsored by generous people. The toilet and shower rooms were built by that hosting family, some time ago, to provide the kids a place to take care of their hygiene. After that, they head out to the streets either to beg or find food again. Some kids would return to their families, some don’t. One sister even told me that they worry for these kids during rainy season especially for the ones who sleep on the streets at night. During that whole experience, I knew in my heart that I would do something to help them in my own little way! I said my goodbyes to the kids and promised them that I will be back. After that, I went straight to meet my fellow Steemians here in Cebu, for the Cebu Writer’s Guild session and opened up about what I encountered. And, I’m happy to hear that they too, have the drive to do a community outreach program with the kids. Hence, I challenged myself to organize an outreach project to help these street children in need. - @indayclara

This sublime project was introduced during our Cebu Writers' Guild Session last May 20, 2018. We were so ecstatic when it was presented by @indayclara and we are so excited to help. I am one of the facilitators of the event.

Let me share to you my colourful experience!

gi.jpg

( Our Outreach Program )

Last December 2017, Me together with my Fellow Supreme Students Government ( SSG ) gave a little gift to the people who suffered poverty in our community. It is indeed beautiful if you help other people even in a little way. The tiredness that I felt was abruptly lost when I see how euphoric they are.

Poverty is unceasingly growing in our society nowadays. Everyone should take heed and know the fact that they need our hands for them to stand up and germinate their life until they will reach the stars in the sky. YES, it is not our responsibility to help those people who in need, but In my opinion, you are living in a useless life if you do not know how to help. I am not saying that it is your obligation to help, my point is "Help and give if you have something to give". Be selfless.

Dear Steemians,

We are knocking in your heart. We really need a fund to support our project.

How Can You Help?

All of the liquid proceeds from this post will automatically be added to this project’s funds. We are also knocking in your generous hearts to help us in making this project successful.

Here are ways for you to help:
You may UPVOTE, COMMENT AND RESTEEM for us to meet the amount needed for the project, to make some noise about this movement, and to share this to your friends.

You may also SEND STEEM/SBD in any amount to @indayclara with the memo "THE AWESOME SMILE PROJECT".

For Cebuano Steemians:
We Need VOLUNTEERS. We need hands to help out with the preparation for the said event. Please write your full name below and the word volunteer or message us on messenger or discord applications.

BUNDLES OF JOY. We will happily accept any of the following for the bundles of joy:

Children's Clothing (used or new)
Story Books (used or new)
Toys i.e. dolls, stuff toys and balls (used or new)
Rice, Canned Goods or Biscuits
Detergent and Shampoo

The event will be conducted this June 2, 2018, Saturday, at Luis Amigo Dormitory, Cebu City, Philippines.

For more details about this event click the link : https://steemit.com/charity/@indayclara/the-awesome-smile-project-bringing-hope-and-love-to-the-street-kids-of-cebu-philippines

quote-the-poverty-in-the-west-is-a-different-kind-of-poverty-it-is-not-only-a-poverty-of-loneliness-mother-teresa-68-59-14.jpgImage source

The Payout of this Post will be donated to @indayclara for the project.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by ryancalaunan being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

The heart to serve coupled with a generous hands will always be our strength in this endeavour. I know we will achieve success in this project because of our dynamic and collaborative team! Such a good act of a youth at your age seeing you supporting and doing charity acts. Keep being an inspiration Ryan!

Thank you sir! Helping other people is what I love really love jud sir. SOmetimes I think that if I am a rich person, I will help the people who in need without hesitations. My goal is to have a foundation someday that aims to love and support the community.

WOah! Now lang ko kahibaw ana... we have the same dream with @indayclara! Putting up a foundation someday with or without Steemit. Hope to see everyone of us succeed with our goals.

Great jud ni nga idea ry ay.. Saludo kay ko ni indayclara sa iyang initiative

I will support this initiative

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59