Introducing The Life Relearnt Project and Grant Application.

in #charity7 years ago

@pennsif is generously offering up a grant as part of his giving project. I'm sure there are lots of worthy causes deserving of this, but as my application for this grant I'll take this opportunity to explain a bit about my project.

I grew up and have lived in deprived areas, seeing first hand the struggles of the lower working class, how it can lead to addiction and how the education system can fail perfectly capable people. Often you feel incapable of helping. Not being in a wealthy position yourself means mostly support and advice, if they'll take it, is all you can offer.

Over recent years I have been brainstorming ways in which I can make a difference and I have seen possible solutions, but don't have the means to implement them...yet. However I now realise that Steemit could offer a way to start taking steps towards that making a difference.

The ethos of The Life Relearnt Project is that there are certain basic needs that should be available to all and should not be squandered, controlled or charged for:

• Water
• Food
• Knowledge and education
• Freedom


It is my hope that one day the scope of the project will expand to encompass ecological regeneration and off grid living opportunities for people from all walks of life. Maybe even escape and recovery for addicts and others struggling with living in the system. As I work towards that goal though, there are opportunities to help support others who are already making headway within the above mentioned areas. Khan Academy offers free education; on Steemit @familyprotection are raising awareness and hope to eventually help families who are being torn apart.

By starting @life-relearnt here on Steemit I want to build the project while helping what causes I can, as I believe that we can make the biggest difference by linking together and supporting each other. Currently I will be supporting causes that I can send funds to directly that have been raised online.

My plan for the grant, if I should win it, would be to be to put it straight into Steem Power on the @life-relearnt account to strengthen the account and increase upvote value for the causes I'd like to support on Steemit. Increasing the Steem Power will also help increase curation reward going back into the account, further building it up. The purchase of the account has come from my @minismallholding account and I will continue to use my account to support The Life Relearnt Project. The SBD raised from this post will also go to powering up @life-relearnt, whether I get the grant or not.

In the short term I plan to send donations raised by the account to @familyprotection and Khan Academy and hope to add to this list. Already I have been overwhelmed by the response to the first posts and will be able to make a much bigger donation to @familyprotection than expected.

Thank you for taking the time to read and thank you @pennsif for being such an inspiration in what you are doing. And no, that's not me trying to sweet talk you, but a genuine thank you no matter what! Your charitable giving, and documenting of that, is what opened my eyes to the possibilities that Steemit can give us in this way.

Sort:  

Congratulations @minismallholding! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54605.61
ETH 2303.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31