LET'S CHANGE THE WORLD: ONE MEAL AT A TIME.

in #charity6 years ago

The poorest among us do not have access to the internet -@damarth.

So today, on my way back from the Abuja Mega Steemit conference I decided to stop at a local community of cattle rearers between Keffi and Akwanga where I had been informed that most of the children begs for daily meal.

IMG_20180218_162928.jpg
I met a few of the kids by the roadside so I asked them to follow me to the local restaurant around there. Instead of just buying them meals today, I decided to take an hour and speak with them to find out why they really resorted to begging. Among them were teenagers as old as 15 with no noticeable physical or medical disability, therefore, I wanted to know why they beg instead of trying to get a skill to help them fend for themselves.

Lord me, I almost cried when I discovered that none of them could communicate with the simplest of basic English language. Communication between us wasn't going to happen as I do not understand the native Hausa language and they do not understand English. I was glad to find a passerby named Ibrahim who offered to served as an interpreter. I listened to their stories of how most of them were abandoned by their own parents and forced to go begging in the street. Some too were orphans who had nowhere to go to but to join this group of beggars and start a small family on the streets.
IMG_20180218_103045.jpg Ibrahim who volunteered as an interpreter.

Long story short, most of them are here because their parents lack the proper education on family control. How can a man who can barely feed himself, who lives in a small huts in the bush, marries four wives and have 30-40 children from them. What do you expect them to do than to push these kids into the street and then go back home to get more wives and produce more children. So education will be a key instrument in reducing the numbers of beggars and eradicating poverty throughout the world.

I also learned from the small chat with them that providing a meal will not offer a long term solution so I began plans today to get them off the street one child at a time. This will be done by integrating them back into the society through basic education and skill acquisition. Two of them indicated interest in learning skills (one tailoring and the other motorcycle repairs) so I have started negotiations and arrangements with a tailor in Akwanga so she can start serving as an apprentice from next month - March.

DQmc6SzTyW391Qv5S9enWvjpt1FR6dna5D8K1eY9LZzu1dD.jpeg
Image credit: @damarth

From @damarth's one meal a day campaign, I was able to afford a good meal each for the 8 of them I met today. I also allowed them to play with my phone taking selfie as most of them have never touched a smartphone before (its that bad).

IMG_20180218_221801.jpg see the happiness of taking a selfie.

IMG_20180218_221712.jpg

IMG_20180218_221614.jpg

I was really moved by the spirit of togetherness and love that they share among themselves. They were 5 so I had initially paid for five plates. They asked that the meal be turned into one large tray where they gather to eat from the same tray. One of them went out to call three more to come share with them. I was like 'even in the little they received, they still have the heart to share with others' I was moved to get for the three newcomers.

I wanna say a big thank you to @damarth for the initiative. In @surpassinggoogle's terms, someone shed a teardrop of joy today because of the one meal a day campaign you initiated. I believe through Steemit we can change the world- - one help at a time. I am proud to be a ground soldier in distributing meals to the poorest among us. How have you made someone smile this week?

Original @lordjames.
Image qualities might be low as I allowed them to take the photos themselves.

Sort:  

I never would have thought you are this kind hearted. I'm so encouraged by this simple gesture of kindness. You may not understand the blessing that come with this but soon the manifestation will start. Nice one dear. If we can all emulate this then the world will be a better place

Thumbs up.

The first part made me so sad and you are a very nice person for doing all of this work. Followed and upvoted if you want you can follow and upvote me back

Thank you @tacogranda for your comments. We are all nice people. We just need to sacrifice a few minutes in a week to do something for someone who will not be able to pay us back.

Yes that is so true

Really nice of you.

Thank you @villagegirl. I hope you are making it round the platform.

this is really nice of you. welldone bro

So happy you're involved in @damarth's One Meal A Day program, @lordjames.

Spending time with the children to find out their history and to begin to take concrete steps to transform their lives via practical apprenticeship takes the initial idea leaps and bounds further. This is as important there in Nigeria as it is here in Jamaica and all throughout the world.

Bless you and I'll be praying for continued success of One Meal A Day, these specific children and all others whose lives you are touching. Their pictures were wonderful and reflected their joy at being able to eat and interact with you for that short time.

EDIT: FB/tweeted too. ;)

I hope to touch as much life as I can. For the one meal a day, its the dream of @damarth. I bless him for that. I came from a humble beginnings so I understand how difficult it might be for some people to get a meal a day. As much as I can, I'll make sure these meals air drops from @damarth gets distributed to those who really needs it.

Oh thanks for the tweets. I hope to one day be able to support people outside Nigeria even in Jamaica too.

This is awesome bro..God will reward you richly for this..kudos
I must avail myself of this opportunity too and touch lives by being part of the campaign
@damarth

Thank you very much. We can change the world. One meal at a time.

Very true..the change we seek begins with us

Beautiful initiave... brought tears to my eyes. I've told you before, you have a good heart! Thank you @damarth for this initiative.

One act of kindness a day, would go a long way in changing the world. Welldone @lordjames.

Hello, please follow the rules of the group Steemit for Resteem ↕ with more than 19000 members and you will be resteemed by the most active members in the group.

You have to resteem someone from the group and pay 0.15 steem or steem dollar to clixmoney and then post in the group and you will be approved, upvoted by clixmoney with an upvote worth 0.15 and active members of the group, and resteemed by other members.

If you pay 0.75 steem or steem dollar you get all of that + my resteem to more than 3000 followers and you don't have to resteem anyone in this case.

This literally brought tears, it reminds me of the forgotten corners of Delta. We are all products of help and nothing could be more rewarding than helping others.
Life begins to make sense when we empty ourselves to giving. Well done @lordjames, you've really kept to the promise you made to me about reciprocation.
God bless you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64156.67
ETH 3169.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53