Charitable deeds, let's crowd-fund for kids in Bangladesh, funds for new school laptop, nr. X

in #charity7 years ago (edited)

All proceeds from this post will go to @SchoolForSDG4, created by @azizbd, to help host a weekly fruit program and provide educational materials for the kids. For those of you who have read my previous crowd-funding posts, you may have noticed that I changed the name of the post slightly. At this point the weekly fruit program is getting stable, @tecnosgirl is helping a lot and @azisbd's posts are getting some exposure and love from all of you.

Here is the latest crowd-funding post

20171007_123551.jpg
Twin sisters Hashi and Khushi relaxing after school. You can see which one is the protective one :D

Last week I wrote about a donation from a kind soul of 10000 Bangladeshi Taka(BDT) which is worth around 128 USD. This donation was made towards the purchase of a new laptop, you can read more about it in my last weeks post here. I specified in my last weeks post that all the income from it would go towards the same goal, to buy a laptop. I am trying to raise more funds for the simple reason that buying a higher quality machine could mean that it would serve longer. Maybe as long as the old laptop has served, for almost ten years (since 2008).


Here is a cheque that @azizbd recieved for the new school laptop

So far we have the 128$ from the main benefactor, 5 SBD from @tecnosgirl, 15.98SBD from my last weeks post, and the SBD @azizbd will earn from his posts when the 7 days will pass. So at the moment that is almost 150 dollars. I would like to push it to at least 300$ over time as a new laptop would cost around 350 to 400 dollars. @azizbd is going to add money out of his own pocket for the time being if necessary, but I will continue crowd-funding for the laptop until we reach the full price of it.

I have to thank all of you for showing so much love for the last weeks crowd-funding post. And thanks to @Curie for the support, I know there is also a chain of command somewhere there, so thanks to all the people involved, for the help, it is greatly appreciated whoever you are!


Parent-teacher meeting on 07/09/2017

Last week there was a parent-teacher meeting at school, the moms of the children discussed the development of their kids education, and @azizbd spoke to motivate the mothers to send their children to school, instead of sending them for work. He also was able to provide apples in this meeting, thanks to you steemians!

Here you can see the kids work at school and one eager beaver is even reading, his name is Sumon. Kids have daily activities that I remember from my Elementary school, writing, reading, numbers, those first developing steps.

And they even get playtime after school is over! Is it a car, a bus, a plane?! Either way Al-Amin looks mighty proud of his work. Who knows, maybe he becomes engineer one day! Today I learned something new about my favorite school, they have two Al-Amins, you can see them both in the picture below! As @azizbd said, one seems happy and the other ones eyes say a thousand words. :(


Al-Amin means ''trustworthy'' so a lot of families like to give the name to their children

And, finally, this weeks fruit program was featuring grapes, we are back to fruits! I love grapes and I hope the kids do, too! I can not thank you all enough for all the support and love you are giving this project, I have said it before, but I will say it again. I think kids are our future, they deserve a good environment to grow up in, they deserve a chance, so one day they can give the same chance to others.


Washing hands before eating is important


All the pictures are provided by @azizbd, any questions about the project can be resolved with him, he will be happy to answer any questions if you are interested to help his project and have any idea about how to make it better. Heck, he will even get up at 4 AM in the morning just to talk to somebody about ideas. Here is a link to his steemit chat: https://steemit.chat/direct/azizbd

If you would like to contribute by making a post, you can contact Mohammed ( @azizbd ) and he will provide pictures for you, anyone spreading the word is welcome. The income from the post can be sent to @schoolforsdg4, if you think you deserve any Steem for your hard work making a post, keep a part, even a small donation from your posts means a lot to those kids.

If you have any Steem to spare, donations are welcome. @schoolforsdg4 is where you want to send them.

If you can't spare any Steem, because I know everybody has their lives to live and expenses needing to be covered, a simple upvote is very much appreciated, a resteem is encouraged. :)

As I said, all income from this post will go towards the project, my rewards are set to 50/50 payout, but I am always able to find the SBD my posts make, so I will be able to forward all income from this post to @schoolforsdg4.

Have a great day, week and life,
Linda

Sort:  

I love that other steemians are helping to support @schoolforsdg4 it is amazing how a little bit can go so far. So many wonderful people here on the platform. I just heard from @azizbd that the Science equipment arrived and @azizbd sent pictures of the kids with the surprise chocolate I included in the shipment. I will be working on my next post for the school soon.

Yeah, he told me that the shipment finally came, maybe future scientists will be made thanks to the microscope!
It makes me so happy as well, knowing that there are people that care about kids, no matter how far they might be, gives me hope for a better future!

Linda, I love that you are doing this and am happy to support it. Two things came to mind.
It looks like that the school is located in an area where food can be grown. Maybe the founders could connect with a permaculture group and really plant the school area intensively with food. So, the donations could go to getting the growing operation started.
Also, I read a while back about a computer manufacturer making computers for kids in need and selling them cheap - for good quality.
Maybe worth to look into.

The permaculture garden suggestion is a good one! It could have a long lasting positive effect!!

We actually were brainstorming about the school being able to sustain itself a while ago, something that would take a while and would need a serious plan. It is cheap to build in Banglades, but land is expensive as it is a smaller country with huge population. Anyways, my idea was to get hold of bigger land and build a school on it, leaving the rest of the area for cultivation. The area has been touched by floods once in a while, but there are places that encounter that problem much rarer. Plus, water means that the land is not dry and planting may actually result in a good result.

I would strongly recommend writing @azizbd, he is in our MAP group or you can click on the link in the post to private chat with him. He is endlessly thankful for any suggestions as the school is very important to him and very personal.

As for the manufacturing part, I will tell @azizbd about it! Do you by any chance remember the companies name or where they are operating from?

it was a US company. I try to do some research. And even in a small area, lots of food can be grown...

Thank you!

I know, growing more fruits/veggies would be a possible business idea to generate some revenue for the schools expenses, so bigger land would actually mean a possibility to turn the non-profit into something self sustainable, I think that is one of the better ideas as far as the schools future goes as that would minimize the charities dependence on donors and it may help even more people in the long run. For the time being, I see hat @azizbd is trying very hard and I think it is a good idea, growing your own produce is always the better idea, I am pretty sure that they are moving spaces next year, but that may actually be an idea that @azizbd could do with. :)

my 2 cents, wish it was more of an upvote

Any help helps :) It is great from you to actually be willing to help, that is what matters!

I love the kids' smiles!!!

Keep doing what you are doing!! That is awesome!

Thank you for the support and love!

I sure will try!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53929.89
ETH 2263.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35