Charitable deeds, let's crowd-fund for kids in Bangladesh, fruits and snacks every week, nr. 31

in #charity6 years ago

All proceeds from this post will go to @SchoolForSDG4, created by @Azizbd, to help host a weekly fruit program and/or provide educational materials for the kids.

I know this is turning into a habit at this point. But this will be a not so lengthy post. I have been much quieter on steemit lately. Just recently I realized that I haven't had a real break for almost a year now. It is not far now, my one year birthday on the platform. I have to be honest. I am a little burned out, though. I need a break and I am skipping computer use as much as I can.

I am telling this to you so you understand. I am not willing to stop posting for the school because the little ones need help. I need to help in at least a little way. If I won't, who will do it in my place? I want to be useful and so I am here. Even if this is not the longest and best post out there.

Here is a recent post from @SchoolForSDG4

20180308_130432.jpg

Now, let's get to the real point. I know I have stolen too much spotlight for myself already! There has been a slight hiccup this week, something that made me sad. Junayed has left the school and moved very far away from the town the educational space is located. @Azizbd has no idea what will happen to him and he told me that it would be impossible to visit the boy now.

Maybe you remember Junayed, the boy in the picture below. He was the one child that had to come to school at night to do the big exam. He was working all day and that was the only time when he could make it. He passed the test even though he was exhausted. I hope he will no be cut from getting educated. He seems eager to learn and I hope he gets to make his dreams reality in the future. I wish him all the best and I hope he will be okay!

On a lighter note, there were fruit snacks this week. Grapes were the chosen treat and, funny enough, I am eating my own(dark ones, though) grapes right now. They are sweet and savory and I love to have some. And the kids had plenty this week! It is amazing and I hope they loved the fruits. How do you like to eat them? One after another or a whole bunch? I stuff my mouth full when I get the berries. And then, I let the juices flow! :D

Three last questions. How do you grow seedless grapes? Do you multiply them by vines, not seeds? I know most people hate seeds in their grapes, do you? When I was little, I didn't even know there were seedless grapes(the ones with seeds were cheaper) my mom always looked for deals, she had to.

The juicy grapes were not the only thing that happened this week. There was more! Some of the kids applied for their bank accounts and are on the way to financial education. You know, you learn through experiences and I think this one is going to help the little ones to understand a little better how banks work.

However, not all of the kids got the bank accounts. Mohammed ( @Azizbd ) informed me that there are three main causes why some of the kids could not acquire their own accounts.

Here are the reasons why it was impossible for some:

  1. The nominee (Parent) has no national ID card, there are no documents that represent that they are the legal guardian of the children
  2. Nominee or Guardian can't write their name (signature). Bank does not accept an application without a signature
  3. Kids have no birth certificate

I had to re-read number 2 point just to make sure. Yes, you understood correctly. Some of the parents of the little ones do not know how to write or read, not even their name. This is exactly what we are fighting. Illiteracy is a serious concern and I had no idea that it is still so common. The kids go to school to have more options and, what we consider basics, is actually something that for them is luxury.

I get surprised every week. How much the help is needed and how much I want to give. I wonder, if I came from a wealthy family, would I be the same me? I think, and I can not be sure about this, that because of my circumstances I am who I am and I want to help. It is not great to have less than others. It is not bad either. As long as you have food on the table, clothes to wear and roof over your head it is okay.

But it is not easy for a kid. For some reason there is always someone who gets laughed at and even though I was not bullied much, I can recall some instances where someone laughed at what I was wearing. I had enough, my mom did not have much money but we always had what was necessary and if I needed something, I would get it. There was just always that knowledge that others had a little more and for some reason, it was perceived as bad, some kids were constantly told that they were not good enough because of it.

Now, not so much. At least not for me. I know how life is. Everyone is not dealt the same hand of cards. It is not what we have but what we make out of it. I like to think that with kindness I can become rich. Yes, even money-wise. If I look out for those in need, life will look out for me(obviously if I work for myself). I am a believer in karma and I just want to spend my life with a clear conscience. I want to look back and be proud.

So, this turned out not be so short post after all! I am surprised. I hope you enjoyed it and I made you think a little. If your heart is warmer after reading this, I did a good job. Thank you for all the supporters of good deeds! Thanks for your love and spirit of goodness. I wish you the best, always. And I will see you next week, no matter what happens.


All the pictures are recent and provided by @azizbd, any questions about the project can be resolved with him, he will be happy to answer any questions if you are interested to help this project and have any idea about how to make it better. Heck, he will even get up at 4 AM in the morning just to talk to somebody about ideas. Here is a link to his steemit chat: https://steemit.chat/direct/azizbd

If you would like to contribute by making a post, you can contact Mohammed ( @azizbd ) and he will provide pictures for you, anyone spreading the word is welcome. The income from the post can be sent to @schoolforsdg4, if you think you deserve any Steem for your hard work making a post, keep a dime, even a small donation from your posts means a lot to those kids.

If you have any Steem to spare, donations are welcome. @schoolforsdg4 is where you want to send them.

If you can't spare any Steem, because I know everybody has their lives to live and expenses needed to be covered, a simple upvote is very much appreciated, a resteem is encouraged. :)

As I said, all income from this post will go towards the project, my rewards are set to 50/50 payout, but I am still able to find the STEEM the posts make, so I will be able to forward all income from this post to @schoolforsdg4.

Wishing you an amazing day, today, tomorrow and forever,
Linda

Sort:  

I often hear about the deeds you are doing, really noble,

what if the post I made in my language and as usual, the results we send to those in need

You could do that! If you write about the school, what you would like to donate goes to @SchoolForSDG4.

It would be much appreciated!

ok, if i have time, i will make it, thanks for your response

@lindahas.... @azizbd???
PicsArt_03-13-04.51.53.jpg

they deserve to be let alone? see them go to school, plastics are made into bags, uniforms that do not wear, but they keep the spirit

Very good
FOLLOw @ajaa23 yes

Sorry, no. That is not the way to do it.

Interesting and nice after exploring this post. Hopefully be an example for me. Regards

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lindahas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98