You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Easter Sunday Musings: Relying on Others is not "Reliable!"

in #charity5 years ago

Your post touches on a difficult issue with charity. To me Steemit is, in one sense at least, a way for some to voluntarily support their friends through charity. We upvote and give our share of the daily crypto to those we deem most deserving of it.

Charity is not easily done though. I want to help my friends as much as possible, but I also don't want to be taken advantage of either. For example a guy says he wants a computer to start a business, and later I find out he really just wanted it for gaming.

That really sucks when I gave him $600 cash for that computer. Another example is someone who wanted money for legal help, and come to find out they really "need[ed] that money for something else." They turned out to be a total thief and scammer.

I have helped a lot of people with cash and other financial support and will continue to do it, but I am more and more careful about who I support. The people I support have to show that they are genuine friends and also actually working hard to further liberty or liberty's cause.

A good example of a friend like that is @insanityisfree. I gladly support him because I know he's the real deal and working hard.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62