You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Charitable deeds, let's crowd-fund for kids in Bangladesh, fruits and snacks every week, nr. 39

in #charity6 years ago

Wonderful initiative!

As someone who grew up in the Western world, I never took my situation for granted, especially after I had the privilege to travel to financially less fortunate countries. The light in the eyes of even the poorest person shines bright! And the kids regardless where they live are our future. I don't trust charitable organizations so the best way is to connect with people and to give directly to those people you know. Thank you for all you do!

Sort:  

Yes! Charities grab a huge chunk out of the donations they receive. You never know where the money goes either. Which is sad as the organizations that are supposed to help oftentimes work solemnly for their own profit.

I remember being reluctant in the beginning, when I started working with the project. You, know. Always be careful and you never know who is sitting on the other side. But I have seen so many great things done here. Backpacks, fruits, lunch. Books, gifts from other steemians. I see where the money goes. And I trust the creator of the project. One day I will definitely go visit him! I want to meet the kids. Maybe even teach some English there. Nothing serious, just the stuff I am sure about. The basics.

Agreed! My extended family is from the Philippines and I know that most of the charitable help for the frequent natural disasters doesn't get to the people in need. I met my wife because like you I choose to help locals directly instead of going through charitable channels. I hope you get a chance to visit your school project!

I think I will. I have been a part of it for almost a year now and I do not think I am going to stop anytime soon. It might not be this year as I have more and more things thrown at me that I have to do. But next year I would love to go there, to Bangladesh. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41