Handing Out Burritos and Enchiladas to the Homeless Bros on Bicycle

in #charity6 years ago (edited)

As regular followers will know, a few days back I punctured the rear tube on my eBike, taking it out of commission for a while. Well as it happens, I got all the stuff I needed to put a new tube (and a tougher tire) on my bike a day after I took home a bunch of Mexican food.

@amandarichards and I went out to eat, but neither of us much cared for the food at Pepino's. They also got my order wrong but let me keep the incorrectly prepared burrito. I saved that, and the enchilada Amanda decided not to eat in take-out boxes, because I knew some people who would appreciate a free meal.

I found a large encampment along the bike trail, and got everybody's permission before taking a photo. The dude with the purple backpack received the burrito. The guy I gave the enchilada to disappeared into his tent before I could take the picture.

Understandably many of them are leery of being photographed, although police are very lenient on the homeless in my area. It shouldn't be illegal to be poor, and people without a house need to exist somewhere. As a fun aside, I finally found a use for the plasma ball I got from @amandarichards a while back:

Plasma lad! Protector of the garage! Anyways, if there are any homeless encampments near you, keep them in mind. If there's anything you're going to throw out that they could benefit from, consider sending it their way, instead of to the landfill.


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

It was very kind of you to help others. Your post hopefully will inspire others to also do a good deed.

sincere and very helpful work bro alex. I applaud your dedication in helping the homeless. it is true what is said that it is better to give what we can give them, without being ashamed. Because this is a charity. easy to realize I can follow your footsteps.
regards

It is a good habit to get into.

We should care for them , they belong to our society, it will cost us nothing if we help them instead we will feel satisfied within ourselves.

GIVING! A word that holds so much weight because it is an action of selflessness. This action is a reflex to some and to others it is a deliberate, thoughtful and intentional decision and action.

Alex does not want to be a flatterer, but it's great what you're doing and it takes more people like you to take a day or a moment to help.

I apologize for my bad English.

It is difficult for everyone to take the time to help and I have a friend with a project calledOne opportunity that tries to help street children, I have not been able to help her as I should for many people in my personal life, but I try to help my way.

We all deserve another opportunity and being poor is not a crime, we must advocate and give our best.

I send you a hug.

That sounds like a really cool and constructive project. You could promote it on your blog, that would be something. Also I return your hug.

Amazing person with an amazing heart. It surely takes only small moments of care that can actually make the world a better place. Good to know your electric bike is back up :)

Glad you did something good with the food instead of just tossing it away or anything. I would have probably felt awkward though doing that, only because I'd wish I'd have more food so everyone could get something. At the end of the day though you helped out two people who needed some meals, which is what matters though.

Also, seems like a perfect use of a plasma ball, haha.

It's very generous of you to give back to your community. They say one man's garbage is another's treasure. Hence, instead of throwing something which we longer find useful away, we could donate it to needy people around us.

Alex - God bless what you did... Understand the poverty, helpless is no very common in those days... But Alex you feel it... World need young lads like you Alex...

+W+

Your bicycle is better than motorcycle.
Nice bicycle .

Thanks for sharing @alexbeyman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97