A VALENTINE WITH HEAVENS DATE - UPDATE ON VISITING IDP CAMPS

in #charity6 years ago

IMG_20180214_114334.jpg

When we give cheerfully and receive gratefully, everyone is blessed”. Maya Angelou

History has set aside the fourteenth day of the month of February for the celebration of love. The celebration follows with lovers wearing colorful dresses of red and white which today is a cultural antique, some persons take to visiting beautiful places with family and friends most especially for sight-seeing but the most beautiful of all place to visit in a day like this is where the children who has lost their parents due to political insurgency resides. There are some men and women who has turned out to be a widow and a widower as the case may be, they are heart broken and sad, although they lay their head when it is night but they do not have homes. A number of them can be found nurturing suicidal and other scary thoughts they are regarded as the Internally Displaced Persons (IDP). Spending a day with these people, putting a smile on their faces can go a long way in making them find hope and love again. I had made it known last week that I would be visiting this place to show love to these people and I reached out for support and I want to thank everyone who showed up to support in their little way, special regard to @korexe for the support shown. And to my friends Ceaser and Glory for accompanying me to this place, without them it probably wouldn't have been possible.

IMG_20180214_102709.jpg
Ceaser the one with the beards and Glory the one with the big smile, their accounts are yet to be confirmed, so watch out for them ☺

I opt for visiting these people to express the feeling of love in the best way I can, after all this is a season of love it would bring a great pleasure fulfilling the reason for the season. I had never visited the IDP camp before my last post on the VISITING IDP CAMP so I had little knowledge on where I could possibly find them but thanks to the online geographical system working in our country Nigeria. After a thorough search I got a location at IDP Camp, Durumi, Area One Abuja. Then again I tried to fix a puzzle of what could be given as gift to these people, I had made a list of some necessary things that we all need in our homes to get comfort, I thought for a second that an hungry man is not usually seen having a good sleep, he always sleeps half way and then wakes up to the feeling of hunger in his stomach. If I truly care for the comfort of these people, I will have to provide some food items for them which they can add to whatever it is that they are left with after the insurgency.

IMG_20180214_114354.jpg
items purchased

Making a list was not the end, I also had to go shopping, and lay my hands in what I can find in the market, well it wasn’t an easy task but with the help gotten from friends it turned out to be quite a funny experience. Dutse market at Abuja was able to provide us with the necessary things that we had on our list, ranging from bags of rice, cartoon of indomie noodles, necessary cooking items and some snacks for the kids we packed up what we had bought, and there we were set to visit the IDP Camp, Durumi Area One Abuja.

IMG_20180214_104023.jpg

IMG_20180214_103846.jpg
I think we just gave him the best sale ever, he had to bring out the calculator as well me ☺


Manager Afam Business


This Lady is Hilarious


On our way to the Camp

We were welcomed by the secretary at the IDP Camp Mr Yusuf who was very excited and he acknowledge our visit.

IMG-20180214-WA0017.jpg

The children were very happy too as they wore big smiles on their faces, and on the sight of our car, they ran towards us with joy, this could only explain the enthusiasm they had knowing they had a visitor and I believe they will never get bored if we kept visiting all the time. They gave me a dainty feeling which dared me to agitate my readers in lending a helping hand to the needy around us.

IMG-20180214-WA0016.jpg

It's not how much we give but how much love we put into giving.” Mother T-eresa.

They were nursing mothers, pregnant women, who came out with joy, all they kept saying was ‘’Na gode” “Na gode” which means thank you. Every face I saw was with a smile, I was overwhelmed at the impact I had made with the little I had brought for them.


Here I was addressing the women and children while my friend Ceased had to interpret for me in Hausa as most of them only hear and speak Hausa

Today was sure going to be a memorable day for me for the rest for my life and I would always love to look back at this day so I took photos with the children and parents, you can find the photos attached to this article and you can see the smile on their faces, it brought me the best feeling I could ever pray for.

IMG-20180214-WA0012.jpg

IMG-20180214-WA0014.jpg

Screenshot_20180214-131600.png

IMG_20180214_114405.jpg

IMG_20180214_114320.jpg

I knew bidding these children goodbye was going to be a difficult thing for me as I was getting to love the moment I shared with them and they also was catching fun as they introduced me into different games that they play when they feel bored. It was a challenge to communicate with them but a friend of mine who spoke Hausa fluently was there to ease the language barrier.

Time soon came and I needed to return home, they bid me goodbye happily and I also did. On arriving home I could not seize from thinking about the event that had taken place today as I also told the story, visiting the IDP Camp was something I would love to do over and over again as I see it as a means of expressing love, the greatest and most powerful feeling ever felt by man.

We make a living by what we get. We make a life by what we give. Winston S. Churchill

DQmabu9dYXAuMxQnA3Q3Wof2wSC27sJ6FAEPBaShgcebPG9.gif

Canada Banner & Giphy Below Created by @gavinthegreat Thanks ! (Free to use !)

Sort:  

good work bro!, it pains me that my VP is low, I would have given a good vote.

Thanks a lot bro, I appreciate.

Special thanks to you boss. You are indeed an inspiration. Thanks so much

Thanks brother, I'm happy to have met with you and I know we will go a long way together.

Sharing is caring. Thank you.

You got that right.

And God will surely bless you and cos you to do more!

Amen. Thanks and I'm proud to be in this community of love

Seriously, those born with no hardship or who have never gone through hardship don't know what it takes to live each day.

Thanks Bro for going through with the above really proud to have you as my senior bro.

@surpassinggoogle #untalented #steemgigs #youarehope

Thanks bro, I'm proud to have you as a brother, I've learnt so much from you and i still learn daily. Love you and happy valentine's day.

Great. God bless you. Resteemed

Thanks, I appreciate

You did well. Valentine is not just the time to show love to our partners, but also a time to show love to those that really need it.

God bless your kind heart

AMEN! Thanks.

Wow this is so kind of you @admiralsp
I hope you would follow me back and check out my blogs
Lets keep steeming
#produlynigerian

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by admiralsp from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hats off to you , very nice work you are doing... ;-)

@adityajainxds

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43