Why I did a 10,000ft Skydive for Diabetes UK

in #charity6 years ago (edited)

So last year I decided to do something I would remember for the rest of my life, something I never thought I would have the guts to actually do but always thought would be amazing.

I wanted to do something unforgettable in memory of my Nan who was a sufferer of Type 2 diabetes.

Elizabeth Nappin was an incredible woman who will always occupy the deepest space in my heart. 

Because of this it was only natural for me to make the fundraising for the skydive as big as I could possibly make it. 

I was relentless in advertising the fact I was doing this. 


I made posters, cards and flyers. I plastered it over all Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. 

I approached local businesses, basically anyone and anywhere I thought I could get a little exposure.


This is when an incredible volunteer for Diabetes UK got in contact with me offering help, 

the one and only Spencer Wimbleton. We spent many days fundraising, he was invaluable in helping me reach my target. 

The day of the skydive was perfect, the wind was low, the clouds few and far between, and the visibility was excellent. 

I was anticipating a long wait but I was told I could be in the air within 10 minutes so had no time to think.

Suited and booted, we walked over to this very small plane and took off. We set off from Perrenporth. We climbed and climbed, 

heading all the way over to Gwithian. I was absolutely blown away by the landscape, I could see Godrevy lighthouse, St. Michaels mount and the Isles of Scilly all in one beautiful, breathtaking view.

At 6,000ft we were above the clouds still steadily climbing to our target of 10,000ft, after about 25 relaxing minutes of sightseeing it dawned on me we had arrived. 

The door was pulled open, the cold wind howled in, this was it!  I shuffled over to the edge, legs hanging out over the void, heart and mind in overdrive, 

despite this nothing was going to stop me from doing this, it meant too much.Sitting on the edge may have been the longest three seconds of my life, 

then it happened, we left the plane. The feeling was overwhelming, all consuming and exhilarating. As we left the plane we did a back flip which, 

mixed with those powerful feelings was so disorientating. We leveled off after a few seconds, facing the ground which was miles away, wind blasting past us at 120mph.

The free fall was amazing, it was so surreal, and seeing almost all of Cornwall from the air on such a glorious day was a privilege. 

The feeling of falling quickly disappears and is replaced by a calm floating feeling. I have never experienced something that felt calm and exhilarating simultaneously. 


Then the parachute opened (Thankfully) and we glided around gazing at the turquoise sea and rocky cliffs. 

Spiraling down towards the patchwork of fields towards the big white arrow where we gracefully landed, with the biggest smile on my face.

The following day more donations came flooding in, raising the total amount to £2300!I would like to thank everyone who supported and donated to the skydive, it has been an honor and a privilege to be a part of something such as this. 

This experience will sit in my heart with my Nan for the rest of my life, Thank you. 


Sort:  

Wow, you are awesome cool sir.Yeah, life means these.I also dreamed to do these kind of cool moves.Thank god you had landed safely.Thanks for sharing with us.

What a wonderful thing to do in memory of your Nan! I'm so glad @jaynie highlighted this on the #steemitbloggers page. Although I must confess, I few of the pictures I looked at through my fingers (thank you, fear of heights - LOL!).

While I upvoted your post, my voting power is currently pretty low, so in addition I'd like to add a - tip!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

What a lovely Tribute to your Nan darling! You are a very brave man!

Thank you that means a great deal :)

Hi there :)

On behalf of the #steemitbloggers and in support of our recently launched #steemitbloggers Minnow Blog Support Initiative... this post has been upvoted by me and shared with my @steemitbloggers community.

You can view the published version of your post here: https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@jaynie/minnow-blog-support-initiative-4-from-the-steemitbloggers

Happy Steeming and keep up the awesome content :)

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Follow our AMAZING community of QUALITY bloggers @steemitbloggers

Awesome thank you @jaynie for your support, I really appreciate you including this post on yours.

Skydiving is really something that will grab people's attention. Alot if times people will do ordinary things for awareness: like a 5k run, shaving their heads, or standing on a busy street corner with signs. But skydiving is on a whole new level. What a great idea!

Cheer mate, I intend to do it again but this year I've roped my sister in to doing it with me! She was hesitant to say the least :)

Oh, no doubt! Thats intense

Hi @aaronnaps! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @traciyork!

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

I hope you enjoyed the experience and we're able to successfully accomplish whatever you wanted to accomplish.

Another thing is that I have upvoted your post on behalf of the #steemitbloggers minnow blog support series started by @jaynielea Head of the Steemitbloggers Discord Server.

Since my voting power is low I have re-steemed your post to 1400+ followers of mine.

Thank you so very much for reading through and I enjoyed being a part of your skydive for now. Have a great day ahead.

A really good idea to sharing, Diabetes is part of all, but not all.

Thank you :)

A truly inspirational story and such a good cause to raise awareness for. The fact that you did it in honour of someone you loved and looked up is beautiful and I'm sure she would of been truly proud of you.

I found this post thanks to an intiative started by @jaynie the founder of #steemibloggers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67109.92
ETH 3122.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69