You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WEEK 2 Giveaway!!!! A steem-powered NOTEBOOK!

in #charismapal6 years ago

This is a really cool idea @charisma777 and a great way to get to know more people. I saw on a show some time ago about your 'little town' and its' 'big heroin problem'. It's so sad, but like you said, people can create and change their own destiny. And it does seem in a world where people have so much 'stuff', there's also the highest rate of drug abuse, both street and prescription. Perhaps people need to find happiness from within and not from consuming more and more material goods.

Apparently I too could go on and on about this :) Again, love the concept...nice job:) Cheers!

Sort:  

There is definitely a lot to the problem and it saddens me to walk around here and see what it is doing not only to the way people think, but the community is broken, I have two children and wanted to come home to make better relationships in this town, i regret it at times, my old hometown, is no longer what it was, I just hope that with a little change on my end, maybe just maybe, I can do more for my community! I see the sense of community on steemit, and wonder why it's so different here, than it is in my 3d life, do people still care here and if so, where are they. So hopefully, in my search to find those still caring individuals I will happen on to a few who share the same vision as me, bringing "Home" back to my "home-town"

That's very admirable of you; I think individuals just see it as a problem which is 'unsolvable'...for a million different reasons. Like you, I have to believe that you just haven't found the right people yet. What comes to mind is one of my favourite quotes by a cultural anthropologist named Margaret Mead:

"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it's the only thing that ever has."

That may be the truest thing i've read! Thank you @lynncoyle1

Yes I believe so as well; I just changed my profile 'description' to the quote...:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63009.40
ETH 3420.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45